We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and nice accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Connor's Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 3 Cloghane B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and nice accommodation”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Stayed two nights and two rainy days. Great bar for locals and guests. Live music on the first night in form of a fiddle. Good food and breakfast. While the place has a lived in feel, our room (Room B or C) upstairs was great with view onto the bay and windows on two sides.

Spent one day driving over Connor Pass (foggy so challenging) and then exploring Dingle (charming) and busy, and driving up to Slea's Head. Second day drove to Brandon Bay and boys went surfacing at one of Jamie Knox's sites - 10 euros per board and wetsuit for 90 mins (more than enough in cold Atlantic). Beautiful wide beach, which seemed half empty because of size.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurofolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    50
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
28
52
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
266 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here with friends while hiking the Dingle Peninsula; the rooms varied in size from tiny to large, but luckily ours was a large one with a large bath. There was a lounge for guests to use and a computer for guest use too. Breakfasts were delicious (smoked salmon-yum), and meals in the dining room at supper were also good. The host was most helpful and also entertaining; we'd stay here again,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginiatravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

All I can tell you is that my son and I asked for a room and I couldn't believe what the owner was trying to give us for 35 euros each. The hallways and the room itself were old, cramped, tattered, shabby and dingy not to mention feeling very unclean and unkempt. The owner who also appeared to have a terrible attitude and put out by having to show us this room instead of getting the money up front obviously has no pride or time to upgrade this hole in the ground he calls a bed and breakfast. Unfortunatley the options in this backwards town are limited but I wouldn't recommmend staying here no matter how tired your legs are fromt the hike.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davidobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Cloghane has to be one of the most beautiful small villages in all of Ireland--some would call it quaint--and O'Connors fits it perfectly. When you first meet Michael, the proprietor, you will swear that he's a long lost friend who remembers you and cares about who you are and what you've been up to. He brings a smile to everyone with his stories and his laughter. Rooms are adequate, nothing fancy but comfortable and roomie enough. The food was astounding. We were fortunate enough to be there two nights, and both dinners were superb. I'm not sure how or when we'll swing another trip, but when we do I can't wait to experience O'Connors again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnKnoxville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Good B&B with pleasant restaurant; great views to the water from some rooms

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghane
12.0 km away
Dingle Benners Hotel
Dingle Benners Hotel
#4 of 9 in Dingle
742 reviews
12.7 km away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
6.1 km away
The Shores Country House
The Shores Country House
#1 of 7 in Castlegregory
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 km away
Camp Junction House & Apartments
10.9 km away
An Riasc Bed and Breakfast
An Riasc Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 3 in Ballydavid
193 reviews
32.8 km away
An Bothar Pub and Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Connor's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Connor's Guesthouse

Property: O'Connor's Guesthouse
Address: Cloghane, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Cloghane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cloghane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Connor's Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run guesthouse, nestling at the foot of Mount Brandon. "A little bit of Heaven in the Kingdom" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your O'Connor's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing