We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Berties Cottage

Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
outside dinning area and lovely Gazebo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Berties Cottage - a beautifully restored thatch cottage with all mod cons. Close to amenities.
outside dinning area and lovely Gazebo
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kinvara, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Michelle...
1 review
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 14 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Couldn't have asked for more.
.the cottage is beautiful and has everything you need for a relaxing break... Surrounding scenery and such friendly locals.. We even had a newly wed couple ask to have pictures taken outside the cottage so we invited them in for more - the gorgeous fireplace made an amazing background

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lisa C
1 review
“Bertie's cottage Kinvara”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family (2 adults, 2 children under 14) spent a week at the cottage just outside Kinvara. As mentioned in previous reviews we were welcomed by Michael with some fresh scones and milk & butter in the fridge. The cottage has the wow factor when you see it - the photos on trip advisor don't give it justice! It has all the charms of an Irish cottage with all the mod cons. The wifi was a bonus and it works well!! It was well placed to go travelling as you are quite central to the west region. There is some great history artefacts in the cottage about the previous owners and the area. The attic room has some lovely books which I could spend hours browsing as it's fascinating to learn about the area. There is a great pub less than 100m down the road which was great for the Guinness, a pool table, sports TV and they welcomed children until 9pm. The locals were very easy to speak to and made our evenings very entertaining. I have recommended to all my friends and would definitely stay again. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askild G
Tromsdalen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage for a summer holiday”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were four adults and two children in Berties cottage. The children especially enjoyed to watch the cows and the Donkeyboy in the neigbourhood. The rental price is a bargain, and the cottage is very well equipped. Recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEIRDRE C
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing stay we had at Bertie's Cottage. A wonderfully restored 200 year old traditional Irish thatch cottage with all the conveniences of modern life. It was easy to find as it is located on the main road between Kilcolgan and Kinvara, in Ballinderreen village. On arrival, we were welcomed at the traditional half door by the owner Michael who treated us to fresh scones and homemade apple pie. Michael has great knowledge of the local area as well as the Clare and Galway regions and had great advice for things to do and places to see. The cottage was beautifully decorated and there was a very large area outside for parking and plenty of room for the kids to play. There was a lovely decking area where we dined al fresco and relaxed in the sunshine. A perfect base to tour Clare and Galway. A 5 min drive takes you to Kinvara with lovely bars and restaurants. A 15 min drive takes you to the beautiful Burren. An hour's drive from Doolin where you can catch a ferry to the Aran Islands. 20 mins from Galway city and further on to the scenic Connemara. More locally in Ballinderreen there is a pub where you can have the banter with the locals, a church, a petrol station with a shop and a fast food takeaway. Down the road at the side of the pub, we found the local GAA pitch which has plenty of room for playing ball and has a lovely playground. We will definitely be back and we are looking forward to it already.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing