We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful retreat to return to after exploring...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dunguaire Castle, Kinvarra
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Dunguaire Castle, Kinvarra
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kinvara, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
patriciac...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat to return to after exploring Galway and Clare”
Reviewed 27 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Myself, my partner, teenage daughter and 2 dogs visited this homely cottage for a 5 night stay this week. It was so comfortable we settled in immediately. The owner was very helpful and easy to reach with any queries. There was a TV with saorview channels, a DVD player and lots of DVDs, but bringing your own box set would be a good idea for a long stay. There was also a small radio/CD player and lots of CDs but again bring your own taste in music. The beds were comfortable and lots of bedding and pillows provided. The heating system was easy to use and the whole place heated up quickly after the sun went down. It was all very clean and well kept. There was ample parking and the layout made it possible to drive all the way round to the back door to unpack cars. All in all this is a wonderful little cottage. The kitchen was a little small and without being too critical, I would suggest a different cooker. We only cooked 1 meal in the kitchen as we dislike solid plate cooker rings finding them difficult to control the heat which is either too hot or not hot enough. This is a personal preference but one easily fixed if the owner chooses to do so. We did a lot of driving around Galway and Clare using Kinvarra as our base and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The old country cottage feel is maintained in a modernised residence.
Liked least: The solid ring cooker
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissScarl...
Newport News, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quaint cottage - great location for exploring Western Ireland”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I decided to explore western Ireland to celebrate our 10th weddding anniversary in September. We tend to prefer the road less traveled and Mickey's Cottage was the perfect place to stay. Quiet, cozy and close enough to Kinvara for anything we might need. Ms. Linnane met us at the cottage to give us the key and show us around the cottage, giving instructions on the oil-fired stove as well. She was very friendly, helpful and recommended several local restaurants when we asked. One of the main reasons I chose this cottage was it was dog-friendly - the enclosed front garden was a huge plus for us and the boys enjoyed exploring it. The cottage had everything we needed for a lovely week. It's a small thing, but having a rear door (with a light overhead) was very helpful for loading and unloading our vehicle in the dark. Our only complaint would be with the mattress on the double bed - very worn and uncomfortable. Additional lamps in the living area for reading would be nice - it was a bit dark with only the overhead light and a small lamp to read by. Overall, we had a nice time and would recommend Mickey's Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very cozy and in a great location! The owner was very friendly and helpful.
Liked least: The double mattress was very uncomfortable and worn out.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anne7877
Naples
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming cottage near Kinvarra”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Cosy cottage about a mile and a half or two from town. Good base for exploring area. Good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe D
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing