We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location”
other travellers have booked this property
On the water's edge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
On the water's edge
'Best View in Ireland' Traditional Sash Windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
On the water's edge
'Best View in Ireland'
Traditional Sash Windows
Located on the Working Pier
Living Area
Bedroom View!
Dogs Bay, just 2km away
More views from the front window
View from the New Pier
Fully Equipped, Modern Kitchen
Living Area with Open Fire
Bedroom Views
Top Floor Bedroom
Middle Bedroom
O'Dowds Famous Seafood Restaurant in background
Enough Said!
Nearby Dogs Bay
O'Dowds Bar and Restaurant 1 minute away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Roundstone, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lloyd C
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 26 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Australian couple - mid 60’s.

The accommodation is a 3 storey building situated adjacent to the fishing boat pier in the small town of Roundstone. Parking is available on the pier directly in front of the building. There was no problem parking in the winter but it may be a bit different during the main summer tourist season.

The ground floor measures approximately 8 metres x 5 metres and comprises a kitchen - dining area and sitting area (with open fire) and a small utility room. The dining table accommodates 5 chairs. There are extensive views from the picture window in the sitting room area over the fishing boat harbour to the mountains on the adjacent peninsular.

Facilities include a 4 burner gas hot plate, electric oven, microwave, good size fridge and freezer, kettle toaster, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Crockery, cutlery and cooking implements are provided.

There is no toilet on the ground floor. Toilets are in the bathrooms on the 1st floor and 2nd floors.

The WIFI was reliable and fast.

Electricity and heating oil are metered and paid at the end of the rental. Radiators are on each floor.

The 1st floor comprises a main bedroom approximately 5 metres x 3 metres with a large double bed, a smaller room that accommodates two single beds and a bathroom with shower over the bath and a toilet.

The 2nd floor comprises a large bedroom approximately 5 metres x 5 metres and a bathroom with toilet and separate shower cubicle.

There are views over the fishing boat harbour from the main bedrooms on both the 1st and 2nd floors. We occupied the 2nd floor bedroom and enjoyed our morning coffee sitting up in bed looking out over the harbour. Usually we managed 2 or 3 cups whilst enjoying the view.

The water in the shower was hot and the pressure, whilst not great, was adequate for a good shower and washing of hair. A hair dryer was provided. The toilet flushed well. The only off-putting issue was the condition of the grout in the shower cubicle. It was not clean.

There is a small small grocery outlet in the town that provided all the basic supplies. There are large supermarkets in the nearby town of Clifden.

There are 3 bars within a short walk of the accommodation. Each bar had it own personality. It was off season and 2 of the bars were open during the week with all three open on the weekends. Bar meals were available. The main hotel in the town was closed for the winter.

We based ourselves in Roundstone for a week and wagoned-wheeled out from there. There is a lot to see in the surrounding country side. I can recommend the location and the accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajscherer
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING house with an AMAZING view!!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The view of the 12 Bens through the downstairs picture window is life changing. Words can not describe the beauty of this image which is indelibly seared into my memory. The view of Roundstone harbor and the 12 Bens is perfectly framed in the window. And the couch is perfectly positioned to sip tea and stare out at this view. The two upstairs front bedrooms have the same view so you tend to take your time getting ready ... there's no rush since you're looking at something beautiful all the time. The house itself is very cozy and the beds are very comfortable (and big, too). Simon and Anne are lovely hosts and we so appreciate your sharing this beautiful home with us. We notice from reading the guest book that several have returned for another visit. I hope that will be us again sometime soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View!
Liked least: That I had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conorb123
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great house in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our two daughters last week and enjoyed every minute. The house is cosy and excellently appointed. The highlight of the house is the spectacular views of the quay and mountains in the distance, the scenery changes every 30 minutes!
Location is right in the heart of the village, has a beautiful beach right on the doorstep (Dog's Bay) and is an ideal base for exploring Connemara.
Anne the owner was extremely helpful add communicative.
Can't wait to come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Dear Conor

Thanks so much for your lovely review, we really do appreciate the feedback. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Quay House.

Very best wishes
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo K
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent house with exceptional views”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed in Roundstone on a number of occasions and have never been disappointed.
However, this house has been by far the best we have stayed in. It not only boasts a superb location with stunning views. It is equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. It is clean and comfortable with a homely feel. The owner Anne was a pleasure to deal with. We loved it so much we have already booked our return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2016
Dear Jo,

Thank you so so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate your positive feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Quay House.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Best
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B0dger
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Next visit booked!”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here last July with our two boys (Ages 6 & 4) and were simply blown away by the location of this humble abode. So much so that we've just booked again for summer 2016!

The views are breathtaking, the house is cosy and tastefully done. The local amenities are quaint and largely sufficient (small convenience store, cafes, restaurants and pubs). Worth noting on this point that your nearest supermarket is in Clifden (a lovely town). I believe, a 30min drive away. Therefore doing a shop on route from the airport is a good idea.

The home is fully equipped, we didnt find we were wanting for anything in terms of utensils or the like. Beds are comfy, hot water worked just fine (electricity and oil is metered and paid for at the end of your stay).

We would recommend a boat trip to Inishlackan island, we went on the 'Lady Marilyn' which is moored in the Roundstone Harbour (right outside the front door!). The Connemara Smokehouse is also well worth a visit, on Wednesday they offer a tour which we shall join again this summer. Be sure to buy lots of their delicious smoked salmon - it's the best ever!

The only regret we had, was not being able to bring our dog as we live in the Middle East where he resides. He would have surely loved Connemara and all that it offers. A stunning little part of the world, so it is.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Dear Christina and Robert
Thank you so much for the great review, it means a lot to us and really does help our business. We can't wait to welcome you back this summer, just organising the sunshine for you at the moment!!
See you all soon.
Anne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing