We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming with old fashioned values” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roundstone House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roundstone House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Certificate of Excellence
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“charming with old fashioned values”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

I brought my mother to this hotel, and it was just perfect.The rooms were very comfortable, and the lounge/reading room is like a home from home.The real star here is the food, whether it's the bar food, or the restaurant the qulality of the cooking is superb.The other star is of course the staff, who make a stay here an experience you will not want to forget.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank degustibusirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    33
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
43
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We visited Vaughans Rounstone House Hotel for a snack lunch during a drive around Connemara. We had bowls of Seafood Chowder each and shared one Salmon and Crab combo salad. Fantastic food with ample portions. The staff were friendly and efficient. The ambiance was superb; I just wanted to check in and stay. Which is what I am promising myself for the next visit to Connemara.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomio123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

This small family run hotel has lots of character and offers comfortable accommodation throughout. There is always a great "buzz" about the place, due in part to the excellent bar food served throughout the day. Our room was at the front of the hotel, so we were aware of the chat of customers and also of passers-by in this idyllic seaside village, but this was not intrusive, and we were alerted to this when booking our room.
Evening meals are of a consistently high standard, with freshly cooked local produce and delicious seafood. Due to the popularity of the restaurant meals should be booked in advance.
Staff should be commended for their friendly, attentive and professional manner.
Although officially rated as a 2* hotel, we would rank it as one of our favourite places to visit; this was our third stay, and we hope to be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have superb views, but can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

Great little family run Hotel in one of the most breath taking parts of Ireland.From the moment we arrived on our 3day stay we were made to feel so welcome.Breakfast was the best we had among the other Hotels we had stayed in on our week long trip to the west and south west. Dinner was included for 2 of the 3 nights ,the standard and choice's on the menu were excellent. and fantastic value for money.
Our double room en suite was fairly basic but more than adequate for our needs and we were lucky to wake up to glorious sunshine and stunning views every morning.On our visit we had coffee in The Abbeyglen (faux ) Castle Hotel a more reknowed 4*Hotel in Cliften where we had stayed 30yrs ago and had considered booking .I can only say we made the right choice with The Roundstone House Hotel as the Abbeyglen Hotel would have cost us twice as much + more and is now looking very tired and in need of much TLC.
Without doubt we will be back,to Roundstone.........sooner rather than later !!!! Thank-you to The Vaughn Family and staff for your wonderful hospitality

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We stayed at Roundstone House hotel for two nights in April and had a really good experience.
The hotel is in a great location right in the centre of the village with spectacular views and staff were very welcoming and very helpful.
The positives were breakfast - great selection, cooked to perfection & really generous portions (especially the smoked salmon which some places skimp on) - location, staff and a nice bar.
However there were a few negatives - room was a little tired and there was no hot water first night. Plumbing noises woke us up at 6.30am, and we could only get about 3 random channels on TV.
Also in early evening hotel was packed with families with young kids eating which for those without kids is a bit noisy.
Overall though I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLC113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roundstone
10.5 km away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.3 km away
Clifden Station House
0.0 km away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
12.8 km away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
26.0 km away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roundstone House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roundstone House Hotel

Property: Roundstone House Hotel
Address: Roundstone Village, Roundstone, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Roundstone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Roundstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roundstone House Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Roundstone House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roundstone House Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing