We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ben Lettery Connemara Hostel(Recess)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Railway View(Recess)
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,477)
Filter reviews
1,477 results
Traveller rating
1,122
234
80
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,122
234
80
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfly fishingriver viewmanor housefisherman's pieluxury roomroaring firehunting lodgetroutfour poster bedowenmore restaurantconnemara regionsitting areaold worldbeautiful roommain restaurantchowder
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,477 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Just back from a wonderful 2 night stay escaping the effects of Storm Emma. The break was booked a few months ago and we would have been so disappointed if we couldn’t stay.Delighted to arrive in one piece to a beautiful room with an amazing view ,comfortable bed,voya products. All sitting rooms had squashy couches and log fires,staff so helpful and pleasant.Food was lovely in pub and restaurant and what a spread for breakfast.We’ll definitely be back! The only thing which would have improved our stay would be if the hotel was dog friendly like some of the others nearby...

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank DublinRosie_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We were just up for a night from killarney. Everything was lovely . Staff were so nice and friendly. Had open fires everywhere and beautiful views overlooking the river. Thanks very much for a lovely stay. Would highly recommend it.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

We hadn't visited Ballynahinch since the '90s and were delighted to find the roaring log fires and comfortable casual ambience hadn't changed, if anything every detail was perfectly attended to. Staff were first class and we were fortunate to be offered a choice of room, one in the original castle and the other in the new wing, with a glorious view of the river. The rooms were large and comfortable, a large 'four poster' bed and seating area overlooking the view. Good TV choice though we hardly used it, lots of newspapers available around the reception and seating areas.
The highlight for us was the estate walk with Noel Joyce, a qualified guide, who took us to the old railway station and then along the lakeside with a very informative and entertaining narrative about Ballynahinch's role in local and overall Irish/British history. We would highly recommend this as it greatly enhanced our knowledge and enjoyment.
The one blip was dining in the Owenmore Restaurant. When originally booking I reviewed the menu which I thought somewhat esoteric and was concerned that we would both like. In the event I ordered the Angus sirloin which managed to be both tough and tasteless. I couldn't eat it. They offered to replace and I had the risotto which was fine - but it spoiled my dinner. I felt more recompense could have been forthcoming - an after dinner drink or whatever.
The following night we ate lamb burgers in the Pub restaurant, which were delicious. It's a shame they don't feature more choices from their lunch menu, in the evening. Breakfasts were delicious with a wide range on offer.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to get a full-on view of the river
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank T00shka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

I was there with my partner and my daughter which came from USA. Our experience was great- all staff well trained and food nicely served and very tasty. Only dessert was quite disappointing- not very fresh and not tasty. Pity because it was the last food and it changed our impression unnecessarily.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank ewarobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We had two nights here and enjoyed every moment. Lovely room in original building with a view to match. Enjoyed dinner both nights in the bar with quiet nightcaps in cosy lounges adjacent. The room was adequate in size and the servicing was spot on. The location was an ideal base from which to explore the Connemara area. The sort of property from which great memories are made.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews