We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic - Lively - Homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Inis Oirr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Inis Oirr
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - Lively - Homely”
Reviewed 24 January 2007

I have stayed in the Ostan many times over the last 20 years and have always experienced incredibly friendly staff. The Island is a wonderful escape from normal life and at the same time providing a lively fun filled weekend. There was excellent traditional music at lunchtimes and every evening while I was there. The food was excellent, rooms clean and bright - with an amazing view from the upstairs bedrooms of the Islands castle. I will be going bcak time and time again.
Thanks to Rita and Thomas!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank TouristGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    27
    9
    5
    15
See reviews for
25
26
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We made our reservation at the last minute and I could hear live traditional music playing in the background over the phone. We arrived on the ferry, walked up the short slope to the hotel, and discovered that the hotel seemed to be one of the liveliest spots of the island.

The inn is mostly upstairs from the "restaurant" (a misnomer) and pub. We had a plain but pleasant family room with several beds lined up like a dorm and a few pictures on the walls; everything was very clean. The shower wasn't great, indeed it would not stay the same temperature for more than a few seconds at a time and was one of the worst I have ever had (I counted ten seconds for it to turn from scalding hot to freezing cold) but then people don't go to Ireland for the plumbing, and at least you could manage to wash.

The pub is one of three, I believe, on Inisheer. There is live music a lot in the summer. Don't make the mistake I did and try to tip the musicians! They were very offended. The hotel pub seemed to have an older clientele, both locals and tourists. Tigh Ned's, a stone's throw away up the hill, was where the younger people were.

The breakfast was very bad, too-- frozen everything and bad coffee, which I should have known better than to order-- but in spite of what must seem like a lot of complaints, our overall impression of the place is that it was friendly, neat and fun, and we would go back.

  • Liked — Friendly people, good location, live music, clean pleasant rooms
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bracing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GALWAY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

Stayed for a weekend with large group of friends. Thouroughly enjoyed every minute. From the magnificent scenery, peaceful surroundings and of course the atmosphere in the 'HOTEL' itself. The rooms are basic but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food was fanastic and great value. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. And of course the craic was mighty. Definitely going back again this year.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MOMOF2Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 December 2002

My family and I have spent three weeks of our summer holidays on Inisheer for the past eleven years. We have grown to love the island and the islanders who go out of their way to help us in every way. We have also got to know other families who holiday there, and there is nothing nicer than to walk around this beautiful island on a fine summer's evening watching the sunset.

There is no place on the island we would rather go for meals or just a quiet drink more than the "hotel" -as it is known on the island. The nightly traditional music sessions are a favourite of mine. The service is always friendly and professional. They take time to chat to their customers and have made me feel very welcome.

It is not a five star hotel -but it is comfortable, clean and is in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland. It is definitely my home away from home.

Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 October 2002

A group of friends go camping on the island every summer, we were hungry and looked around and went into the Inisheer Hotel for a " Full Irish " breakfast. We were not guests at the hotel, but a sign outside clearly said Non-Residents Welcome.

After waiting over half and hour...We got a rasher, 2 x sausages and an egg, and one slice of toast. This cost Euro 8.00. I got a scoup of beans on 1 slice of toast, that was Euro 5.00. Now i live in Dublin, and nowhere have I ever seen anything priced so high, and a so little food on the plate, never mind about the service!!!!

All I can say is that, if the islanders depend on tourists for money, then they had better provide a better quality service, or else they will loose out on visitors.

Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inisheer
11.8 km away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
396 reviews
12.5 km away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
11.3 km away
Aran View Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 18 in Inishmore
86 reviews
0.0 km away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 18 in Inishmore
227 reviews
0.0 km away
An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inis Oirr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inis Oirr

Property: Hotel Inis Oirr
Address: Lurgan Village, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inisheer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inisheer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ostan Inis Oirr, owned and run by the Flaherty family for 30 years. The hotel is situated close to sandy beach and pier. The 14 bedrooms include 2 large family rooms. All bedrooms are en-suite with central heating, electric blankets and hairdryers. Facilities include a Restaurant, bar and Lounge. A magnificent dining room is overlooking a castle. There is fresh local seafood with full wine and bar facilities also available on request for non residents. A Great atmosphere with traditional Irish Music and food in the Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Inis Oirr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostan Inis Oirr (Inisheer Hotel) Hotel Inishere
Hotel Inisheer Ostan Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr Aran Islands/Inisheer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing