We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
264
62
11
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
62
11
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inis mor big kitchen aran islands living room overlooking the harbour common areas a great stay perfect place to stay minute walk beautiful island clean rooms bike rental group of friends the owner great craic enjoyed my stay great spot
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

This hostel is by far one of the best I've ever stayed. The staff is super friendly, atmosphere is excellent and I keep returning there whenever I travel to Ireland. The hostel is easy to find when arriving with the ferry, rooms are nice and clean and the kitchen is well-equipped.

During my visits I've met a lot of people who tend to extend their stay at the island and at Kilronan Hostel, thanks to having a lot of fun and shared experiences with the workers and fellow travellers. I'd definetely recommend this place for anyone who loves good time!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveterry99, Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017


During October and November 2017 if you book two nights you can stay the third night free, just first two night our homepage!

Thanks for the kind works! We aim to please.
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Four of us stayed in a room at this hostel for one night during an Aran Islands cycling holiday. The room cost €108, and was the smallest four-person hostel room I've ever seen. The shower/toilet was miniscule, no rool to dry off after a shower. We were lucky that one of our friends couldn't make it, but even with three occupants is was a very tight fit. On the plus side, the location of the hostel is excellent, and Helene in reception was lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ppmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveterry99, Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Please have a look at the previous 100 reviews for Kilronan Hostel for an accurate reflection of Kilronan Hostel. Just because we have one or two small rooms with amazing views that does not mean we deserve the worst possible score on Tripadvisor.
We could have easily moved this guest to a larger room without the amazing views if he had just asked when we spoke to him numerous times when he was here.
To all Tripadvisor guests, if there is anything you need when you are here, just ask any of our friendly staff and we will do our best to help you out. There is nothing we can do if you complain one month after leaving us.
We actually care about our guests and want them to have the best possible experience on our amazing island.
Regards,
Dave


Here is some helpful information about the hostel and the island that you may find useful to know before you come to visit:

A. An ATM is available in the supermarket – 1 minute walk from the hostel. The supermarket is open until 6pm Monday to Saturday, 5pm on Sunday.
B. Bicycle hire is available in front of the hostel for just €10 per day.
C. Continental breakfast is included in your room price and is available in our kitchen from 7am – 11am each morning.
D. Dinner can be eaten in Bayview Restaurant, Pier House, The Bar, Joe Watty’s or Óstán Árann (The Hotel). Or, of course, you can use our kitchen to cook something yourself!
E. Entertainment – relax in front of the TV, watch a DVD, play a boardgame with some other guests, read through our massive selection of books or borrow some of our sports equipment.
F. Fish and seafood are island specialities – make sure you try them if you eat in one of the restaurants!
G. Gaelic is the official language of the islands and you will hear the locals speak it – but don’t worry, everybody speaks English too!
H. Horse Riding is available on the island, just ask at reception.
I. Inis Mór is the largest of the three Aran Islands. The name literally translates as ‘big island’ and the island has a population of approximately 850 people.
J. ‘Jenny rides’ on a traditional horse and cart are available – just speak to one of the friendly men at the pier.
K. Two man Kayak to use free of charge, weather permitting!
L. Lockers are available for valuables at reception, just ask when you arrive.
M. Music in Joe Watty’s Pub most nights – just a five minute walk from the hostel.
N. Noel is our friendly tour guide and he does bus tours of the entire island for €10 per person.
O. Opening hours at the hostel are from 09:00 to 20:00 for reception
P. Pints, pints, pints! The 3 bars on the island all have lovely Guinness, so don’t leave the island without trying it!
Q. Questions – if you need anything when you are here, please just ask! We’re here to help.
R. Rain gear is available free at reception for those who aren’t good at planning.
S. The hostel is very secure as we are on an a quiet island. We have CCTV security throughout and special security room keys that open the door just to your room and the front door.
T. Towels are free, just ask at reception.
U. Usually it rains but sometimes you can be lucky and get some Irish sun.
V. Vincent is the basket maker on the island and he weaves wreaths and other cool stuff.
W. Wi-Fi is free in the hostel. There is no password, so just log on! If you don’t have a smartphone/laptop, we have a computer in the Living Room that you can use for free. Passsword kilronanhostelwifi
X. X-Rays can be taken in the Medical Centre if you fall off your horse/bike!
Y. Yawning is contagious. Who knew?!?
Z. Zzzzz – you’ll sleep like a baby after breathing the fresh Atlantic air, cycling around the island and enjoying a few pints of Guinness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

Had a great stay at Kilronan Hotel on what was truly a miserable day in terms of Irish weather. But no fear! The staff were very friendly and helpful and even had a supply of rain gear to lend me. Good showers too!

Also, please support Gearoid who runs the souvenir shop behind the Aran Sweater Market, he's a delight and he makes great coffee!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MiriamR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveterry99, Guest Relations Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks for your nice review. We hope you come back and visit us again someday.
Regards,
Kilronan Hostel Team

Remember guests if there is anything you need when you are staying with us just ask as there is nothing we can help you with after you leave our beautiful island!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a three-person room in Kilronan hostel for two nights and found it to be a great spot to base ourselves.

Our room was very small and would potentially only work for close friends or family members, and there wasn't a lot of space for us to store our luggage etc. However, the beds were comfortable and bedclothes and towels were provided. Our room was also en suite and had a good shower with plenty of hot water, which was much appreciated after a day out in the rain!

Breakfast is also included in the room price and was very good. Lots of different cereals are provided, along with bread for toasting and lots of different jams and marmalades etc, as well as a range of teas. The hostel kitchen is well stocked and clean too, and the TV room has sky television and a computer with internet. There is, of course, free wifi throughout the hostel also.

Our only complaint about our stay was that we were kept awake on both nights by other guests shouting and making noise in the middle of the night. They seemed to be teenage boys whose parents were staying in a different part of the building.

Overall though, I would highly recommend Kilronan hostel for excellent value accommodation. The hostel is located overlooking the harbour in Kilronan. It is a 1 minute walk to the local Spar, pubs and restaurants, and a 3 minute walk to the ferry. What more could you want!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Fairyfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We would have preferred a hotel but everything was booked. We were pleasantly surprised and would definitely stay again!! The rooms were clean and private and our kids loved it. The breakfast was good too, cereals, toast and tea. We rented bikes and road all over the island. Loved it!! They even gave us a an extra room because our group was 11 people and it gave us more space!!!!!! Will definitely stay again!! very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveterry99, Public Relations Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Here is some helpful information about the hostel and the island that you may find useful to know before you come to visit:

A. An ATM is available in the supermarket – 1 minute walk from the hostel. The supermarket is open until 6pm Monday to Saturday, 5pm on Sunday.
B. Bicycle hire is available in front of the hostel for just €10 per day.
C. Continental breakfast is included in your room price and is available in our kitchen from 7am – 11am each morning.
D. Dinner can be eaten in Bayview Restaurant, Pier House, The Bar, Joe Watty’s or Óstán Árann (The Hotel). Or, of course, you can use our kitchen to cook something yourself!
E. Entertainment – relax in front of the TV, watch a DVD, play a boardgame with some other guests, read through our massive selection of books or borrow some of our sports equipment.
F. Fish and seafood are island specialities – make sure you try them if you eat in one of the restaurants!
G. Gaelic is the official language of the islands and you will hear the locals speak it – but don’t worry, everybody speaks English too!
H. Horse Riding is available on the island, just ask at reception.
I. Inis Mór is the largest of the three Aran Islands. The name literally translates as ‘big island’ and the island has a population of approximately 850 people.
J. ‘Jenny rides’ on a traditional horse and cart are available – just speak to one of the friendly men at the pier.
K. Kilronan is the main village on the island and is located directly beside the pier.
L. Lockers are available for valuables at reception, just ask when you arrive.
M. Music in Joe Watty’s Pub most nights – just a five minute walk from the hostel.
N. Noel is our friendly tour guide and he does bus tours of the entire island for €10 per person.
O. Opening hours at the hostel are from 09:00 to 20:00 for reception
P. Pints, pints, pints! The 3 bars on the island all have lovely Guinness, so don’t leave the island without trying it!
Q. Questions – if you need anything when you are here, please just ask! We’re here to help.
R. Rain gear is available free at reception for those who aren’t good at planning.
S. The hostel is very secure as we are on an a quiet island. We have CCTV security throughout and special security room keys that open the door just to your room and the front door.
T. Towels are free, just ask at reception.
U. Usually it rains but sometimes you can be lucky and get some Irish sun.
V. Vincent is the basket maker on the island and he weaves wreaths and other cool stuff.
W. Wi-Fi is free in the hostel. There is no password, so just log on! If you don’t have a smartphone/laptop, we have a computer in the Living Room that you can use for free. Passsword kilronanhostelwifi
X. X-Rays can be taken in the Medical Centre if you fall off your horse/bike!
Y. Yawning is contagious. Who knew?!?
Z. Zzzzz – you’ll sleep like a baby after breathing the fresh Atlantic air, cycling around the island and enjoying a few pints of Guinness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews