We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
264
62
11
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
62
11
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews inis mor big kitchen aran islands living room overlooking the harbour common areas a great stay perfect place to stay minute walk beautiful island clean rooms bike rental group of friends the owner great craic enjoyed my stay great spot
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Stayed at this hostel for 1 night on the island. I think it is a great choice! The hostel is very close to the ferry drop off, so its an easy walk over with your bags. The rooms have two bunk beds and a private bathroom. They are small rooms but cozy and our room had a nice view of the harbor.

The staff was really nice and the hostel is attached to a bar so thats nice. The hostel is nice walking distance to everything (restaurants, bars, bikes, shops) and is a good price.

I initially wasn't sure where to stay on the island and I am really glad I ended up picking Kilronan Hostel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveterry99, Expert Entertainer at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

What a great family, 2 adults, and three well behaved children. Best of luck with the rest of your trip!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hostel earlier in June 2017. We were visiting the island on a week long trip to Ireland and didn't want to rush Inismór so booked this in advance to guarantee we could stay overnight.
The hostel is located right beside the pier so it's perfect for dropping your bags off and going to explore the island. The bike hire is conveniently right beside the hostel too so you can get going right away!
The hostel gave cheap rates with a continental breakfast included (there was tea, coffee, cereal, eggs and bread- plenty to go around!) and the dining room was really spacious to cook and relax in.
The bedrooms were a little small but you won't be spending much time there so it doesn't matter!
All in all a great wee hostel, super location and I would really recommend :)

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank katie02_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Visited with large group of friends. The rooms were pretty small, but they were cozy and the beds were very nice. Individual bathroom in every room make it different from other hostels, in a good way. Had an unbelievable view of harbor and the crystal clear blue water off the coast of Inis Mor.

Room Tip: Choose room with view over harbor. Rooms on the east side have this view.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daveterry99, General Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for your nice comments. What a great group!
Regards,
Cool and the Gang!

Here is some helpful information about the hostel and the island that you may find useful to know before you come to visit:

A. An ATM is available in the supermarket – 1 minute walk from the hostel. The supermarket is open until 6pm Monday to Saturday, 5pm on Sunday.
B. Bicycle hire is available in front of the hostel for just €10 per day.
C. Continental breakfast is included in your room price and is available in our kitchen from 7am – 11am each morning.
D. Dinner can be eaten in Bayview Restaurant, Pier House, The Bar, Joe Watty’s or Óstán Árann (The Hotel). Or, of course, you can use our kitchen to cook something yourself!
E. Entertainment – relax in front of the TV, watch a DVD, play a boardgame with some other guests, read through our massive selection of books or borrow some of our sports equipment.
F. Fish and seafood are island specialities – make sure you try them if you eat in one of the restaurants!
G. Gaelic is the official language of the islands and you will hear the locals speak it – but don’t worry, everybody speaks English too!
H. Horse Riding is available on the island, just ask at reception.
I. Inis Mór is the largest of the three Aran Islands. The name literally translates as ‘big island’ and the island has a population of approximately 850 people.
J. ‘Jenny rides’ on a traditional horse and cart are available – just speak to one of the friendly men at the pier.
K. Two man Kayak to use free of charge, weather permitting!
L. Lockers are available for valuables at reception, just ask when you arrive.
M. Music in Joe Watty’s Pub most nights – just a five minute walk from the hostel.
N. Noel is our friendly tour guide and he does bus tours of the entire island for €10 per person.
O. Opening hours at the hostel are from 09:00 to 20:00 for reception
P. Pints, pints, pints! The 3 bars on the island all have lovely Guinness, so don’t leave the island without trying it!
Q. Questions – if you need anything when you are here, please just ask! We’re here to help.
R. Rain gear is available free at reception for those who aren’t good at planning.
S. The hostel is very secure as we are on an a quiet island. We have CCTV security throughout and special security room keys that open the door just to your room and the front door.
T. Towels are free, just ask at reception.
U. Usually it rains but sometimes you can be lucky and get some Irish sun.
V. Vincent is the basket maker on the island and he weaves wreaths and other cool stuff.
W. Wi-Fi is free in the hostel. There is no password, so just log on! If you don’t have a smartphone/laptop, we have a computer in the Living Room that you can use for free. Passsword kilronanhostelwifi
X. X-Rays can be taken in the Medical Centre if you fall off your horse/bike!
Y. Yawning is contagious. Who knew?!?
Z. Zzzzz – you’ll sleep like a baby after breathing the fresh Atlantic air, cycling around the island and enjoying a few pints of Guinness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

I stayed here for a few days over the Easter break, and what an amazing place it was! Dave (the owner) was the most friendly, welcoming, good humoured host who went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable.

My sister and I had booked a room which (little did we know) had a chain smoker who was also staying there. We informed Dave that the smoke smell was strong and he understood instantly and moved us to an apartment a few minute walk away from the hostel- which was an incredible upgrade for the same price as the dorm.

Even with the upgrade we were welcome to the main hostels common areas, which were always full of friendly workers and guests. A worker, in particular, Jonny was amazing, always smiling and he helped create such a lovely 'family' vibe.

One evening we were invited to join in with the hostels workers 'family' dinners and were even given a few bears by Dave!

Other points- This hostel was super clean. All details looked after- no making beds, free towels, clean kitchen. The hostel is easily accessible from the port, we were given a great overview and information about the Island... you will be so thankful you stayed here!

We were very sad to leave such an amazing hostel on a beautiful Island! Thank you so much Dave and the team. I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, Upgrader at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Always great to have a few Aussies staying at the hostel!
Thanks for the nice review guys and please come back to see us again!
Just to clarify, we are a non smoking hostel and the guest mentioned was not smoking in the room but reeked of ciggies, hence the upgrade.
Regards,
Dave

Here is some helpful information about the hostel and the island that you may find useful to know before you come to visit:

A. An ATM is available in the supermarket – 1 minute walk from the hostel. The supermarket is open until 6pm Monday to Saturday, 5pm on Sunday.
B. Bicycle hire is available at reception for just €10 per day.
C. Continental breakfast is included in your room price and is available in our kitchen from 7am – 11am each morning.
D. Dinner can be eaten in Bayview Restaurant, Pier House, The Bar, Joe Watty’s or Óstán Árann (The Hotel). Or, of course, you can use our kitchen to cook something yourself!
E. Entertainment – relax in front of the TV, watch a DVD, play a boardgame with some other guests, read through our massive selection of books or borrow some of our sports equipment.
F. Fish and seafood are island specialities – make sure you try them if you eat in one of the restaurants!
G. Gaelic is the official language of the islands and you will hear the locals speak it – but don’t worry, everybody speaks English too!
H. Horse Riding is available on the island, just ask at reception.
I. Inis Mór is the largest of the three Aran Islands. The name literally translates as ‘big island’ and the island has a population of approximately 850 people.
J. ‘Jenny rides’ on a traditional horse and cart are available – just speak to one of the friendly men at the pier.
K. Kilronan is the main village on the island and is located directly beside the pier.
L. Location – we are in the same building as Joe Mac’s pub, in the big green building near the beach. It’s just a couple of minutes’ walk away from the pier.
M. Music in Joe Watty’s Pub most nights – just a five minute walk from the hostel.
N. Noel is our friendly tour guide and he does bus tours of the entire island for €10 per person.
O. Opening hours at the hostel are from 7am to midnight
P. Pints, pints, pints! The 3 bars on the island all have lovely Guinness, so don’t leave the island without trying it!
Q. Questions – if you need anything when you are here, please just ask! We’re here to help.
R. Rain gear is available free at reception for those who aren’t good at planning.
S. Souvenirs are available in the many craft shops beside the pier books, postcards, traditional Aran Sweaters, hats, caps and much more!
T. Towels are free, just ask at reception.
U. Uranoscopy is the official name for star-watching and with so few street lights on the island, you’re in the perfect place to enjoy the view!
V. Vincent is the basket maker on the island and he weaves wreaths and other cool stuff.
W. Wi-Fi is free in the hostel. There is no password, so just log on! If you don’t have a smartphone/laptop, we have a computer in the Living Room that you can use for free.
X. X-Rays can be taken in the Medical Centre if you fall off your horse/bike!
Y. Yawning is contagious. Who knew?!?
Z. Zzzzz – you’ll sleep like a baby after breathing the fresh Atlantic air, cycling around the island and enjoying a few pints of Guinness!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

My stay was fantastic! The entire building is so quaint and lovely, and I had an amazing view of the water from my room! The beds were comfy and warm, and the shower was hot! I loved every aspect of my short stay here, and hope to be back soon, because one overnight trip to Inis Mor is just not enough to soak in the beautiful tranquility of this island!

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David T, HOSPITALITY hERO at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thanks for staying with us. Always a pleasure to have nice guests staying with us.
Remember all TRIPADVISOR guests, we now have free vouchers for Dun Aonghosa For for all guests worth €5!
Regards,
Dave

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews