We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Ard Mhuiris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard Mhuiris
Ranked #8 of 21 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Mairtin and Cait were the best of host and hostess - from promptly greeting us at the dock (a surprise in the light drizzle), getting us settled in our lovely rooms, escorting us on a historical tour of the island, advise on best places to hike and shop (which turned out to be our favorite in all of Ireland!!!) and a fabulous breakfast (I should have asked how to get such a perfect poached egg - done the old fashioned way). We traveled as a family of 6 and each of us agree - this was our favorite B & B experience. Cait and Mairtin with their welcome into their "home" and life are a part of our best Ireland experience!

Room Tip: We had a great view from our window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duhig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2016

The hosts Martin and Cait were exceptional and made our stay very interesting and pleasant. We were met at the dock and taken to the B&B which we found to be very welcoming and comfortable. Martin gave our family a tour of the island and we found him to be very knowledgeable and interesting. He also escorted us to shops selling items that we requested. The breakfast was the traditional Irish breakfast with alternatives such as porridge upon request. Our family enjoyed our stay immensely and much of that was due to our accommodating hosts. We wish we had stayed two nights and will plan to do so in the future. We have already recommended this B and B to friends who plan to visit soon.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

This is an adorable B&B on the island. It's very convenient to where the pier is, if you're taking the ferry from Rosaveal. Cait and her husband are polite and friendly folks who even left a note for us, in case we arrived while they were at church. The view from our room was beautiful. We enjoyed our breakfasts, which put us in a lovely frame of mind for our journey back to mainland Ireland. Highly reccomended.

As with many B&Bs, be prepared for some low water pressure when compared to US showers. Just an FYI.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DCJenJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

Lovely bean an ti. Warm welcome, with just what we needed after a boat trip a cuppa. Will be back with friends. Great fry in the morning and we were given a short history of the island and the best places to see and eat.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Ard Mhuiris is a quick walk from the ferry drop off, to the right and past the bike shop at the beginning of the dock. Martin greeted us warmly, showing us our room and was helpful in giving us information to get started with our island exploration. He gave us a pass that allowed us free entry into Dun Aonghasa, told us that all the bike shops are owned by the same people now and where two places to eat for dinner. He kept the welcome short and sweet since we had arrived on the afternoon ferry and wanted to get on our way. His wife was not home at the time but we met her the next morning for breakfast. She was also extremely warm and helpful.

Breakfast was your typical B&B offerings--traditional Irish breakfast and different options for eggs and toast. We enjoyed the generous portions of scrambled eggs and the poached eggs were perfect.

We booked a triple--two singles and a double--the room was efficient and all that we needed. There were plenty of electrical outlets in accessible locations. In other places we've stayed, particularly older homes, but even newer B&Bs that the outlets are hidden behind beds, etc. The room was warm, clean, and bright. The bathroom was very modern. My father, brother, and I stayed at this B&B as part of the Aran Islands Ferry special package - €50/person/night stay in a B&B including round (return) trip on the ferry. I called Aran Islands Ferry about the deal and was told the deal is with a few B&Bs in Kilronan on Inis Mor, and that we would stay wherever had space available. The B&B turned out quite lovely--better than some of the places we've booked on our own during our travels in Ireland.

Stayed: April 2016
1  Thank jungfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inishmore hotels
0.7 km away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
432 reviews
6 km away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 21 in Inishmore
246 reviews
0.4 km away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#4 of 21 in Inishmore
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#5 of 21 in Inishmore
149 reviews
0.2 km away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 21 in Inishmore
142 reviews
2.6 km away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#7 of 21 in Inishmore
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Mhuiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Mhuiris

Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ard Mhuiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Mhuiris Hotel Inishmore
Ard Mhuiris Aran Islands/Inishmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing