We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed in Pier House on the October Bank Holiday weekend and had a super stay. Eventhough the weather was bad and the boat journey rocky the Island and our accommodation made up for it. Conveniently located just by the pier we were delighted with the warm atmosphere on our arrival. Our room was comfortable and warm. The breakfast was very good with loads of choice. The fire in the living room was very much enjoyed after a day of cycling. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    61
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
86
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2011

I have 2 different points to tell about this place. Firstly when we arrived to the guest house, after a very rough crossing we both felt a bit ill. We asked for 2 cans coke just to try and get some life back into us. We got them alright but it cost us 5 EURO for 2 cans of coke !!!! . Secondly I had booked this guest house before we made the trip and was quoted 60 euro for the night. The following morning when I went to pay he tried to charge me 80 euro, I told him I was quoted 60 but he was adamint he wanted 80. We had a bit of a heated discussion about it but in the end he accepted the 60 euro. I Know the island depends on tourists to survive but this is just a blatent RIP OFF.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tourist908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

The pier hotel was convenient, clean, warm (on a wet, windy and cold day), the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a good stay. Everything in the hotel was clean and tidy.
The rooms were a bit cramped, with a view of a seedy back yard. This is the real Ireland, way out on the west coast: expect friendly welcome and good humor from all the locals, really interesting island but things are obviously a bit tough in the economy. Local history is amazing, well worth the trip.
Must do: the prehistoric fort of Dun Angusa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank facebook56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Comfortable and relaxing. Excellent location as you step off the ferry and convenient to shopping, tours vans, bikes and pony carts. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We especially enjoyed the private parlour for guests only with a peat fire and wonderful views of the harbour. Only a 15 minute walk from Joe Watty's Pub with traditional Irish music sessions beginning at 10 pm. The food at Pier House was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the harbour is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

First class guest house, right on the harbour. Very good restaurant, friendly staff and excellent service.

Room Tip: Stayed here before and found all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amadeus46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.6 km away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
25.2 km away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
37.5 km away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 km away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 km away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Guest House

Property: Pier House Guest House
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pier House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Guest House Hotel Inishmore
Pier House Guest House Aran Islands/Inishmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing