We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pictures totally misleading, mouldy curtains, exterior not painted in 20 years” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainistir House Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mainistir House Hostel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pictures totally misleading, mouldy curtains, exterior not painted in 20 years”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

I booked this hostel for myself and my girlfriend we had been looking forward to visiting inis mor. We were excited when we saw the boutique style rooms on the Internet.. Our optimism was shattered when we arrived, to discover the outside of the building looking absolutely disgraceful.. Mould growing on walls, grass not cut, weeds growing everywhere.. Around the back of the house was piles of used cooking pots, more weeds and general dirt.. The owner checked us in, and cleverly made us pay for our 2 night stay up front, 50 euros per night, total 100 euro.. Our room was number 4, up a narrow and low stairs, on which I banged my head.. On arriving inside the room, it smelled of mould.. It was tiny, and the windows had condensation on them.. The curtains were mouldy., and the floor was dirty.. My girlfriend got locked inside one of the toilets because the handle broke, luckily she had her mobile and rang me so I could rescue her.. Generally, I have never complained about a place before, and I do not expect unusually high standards, but this guy has a total cheek charging 50 euros per night.. The b&bs, hotels etc are the same price!!!! I would question the authenticity of any review that recommends this place, because it simply isn't true.. I have travelled all around the world, china etc, and never seen a lower standard.. Disgraceful and a bad advertisment for Ireland to any potential visitors..

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eurotiger79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    15
    9
    16
    37
See reviews for
13
21
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Pleasant owner Joel.clean tidy room.breakfast left out for us even though we left on the 8.15 ferry.overall happy with this hostel!not ideal if u have mobility problems-perfect if you intend to travel around by bicycle!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjkinsella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

Not only the service is optimal, the rooms are comforatable, the location is beautiful, the food remarkable but especially the staff is just the best! Very kind and helpfull, funny and sociable. I loved my stay at Mainistir and decided to stay there for almost a week.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brechtjedebacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Hostel is in a beautiful part of Arainn (though the whole island is absolutely magic). Stayed overnight, decided against another night. Hostel very basic, no lounge area as such - just a not very exciting lobby area. Had private room at a cost of 45 euros!! (Could have had lovely B and B for that, but they were all full!) There were two mugs on a tray, but no kettle, spoons or anything else. Decor - strange...no frills - but at least the bedding was clean. Kitchen was neglected, grimy and the kettle didn't work. (Some nice Danish man brought his out of his room to use.) Tea towels were indescribably filthy. Attitude from manager is arrogant, rude and off putting. Definitely doesn't like to put himself out for anyone. Must be his 'artistic' temperament! Other staff ok.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AUNT_JEMIMA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inishmore hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I had a fantastic stay! I was traveling alone, but the staff were super friendly and gave me all kinds of advice on seeing the best parts of the island. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, showers hot, and a great breakfast was included. Not to mention the award winning vegetarian restaurant attached to the hostel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inishmore hotels
182.3 km away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
181.8 km away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
181.8 km away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.0 km away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 km away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mainistir House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mainistir House Hostel

Property: Mainistir House Hostel
Address: Mainistir Village | Inis Mor Island, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Mainistir House Hotel Inishmore
Mainistir House Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing