We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a lot better.”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tallaght
Reviewed 20 November 2017

The staff were all very nice and helpful. But our room was too warm so we had to turn off the radiator. The carpet was a bit dirty in the bedroom. The towels were too small. There was a smell of urine in the bathroom plus it was very warm in there. The heat was unbearable in the corridor outside our bedroom. The chairs in the seating area of the cafe bar were all ribbed and torn. The area were we were seated to eat our breakfast was dark dreary and bits of the decorated plaster were missing from the walls.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

I have looked at the previous reviews of this hotel and thought OMG I have been booked in here. To be fair this is not a top notch hotel however if you were on a budget then it would be OK. The rooms are spacious but in need of a spruce up as the wallpaper is scuffed in places and the carpet is stained but the bathrooms are clean and plenty of towels. There is tea and coffee available in the rooms, the breakfast in the mornings is as per normal buffet and there is plenty . I have found my interaction with the staff to be very friendly and helpful. There is live music in the downstairs bar on a Thursday night which means lots of noise until midnight but to be fair I have been lucky in the last two weeks in relation to noise in the corridors. The walls are paper tin so any noise in the next room can be a problem but overall so far my stay has been fine but I do have the rest of the week here and next hopefully my good opinion will not change, I have stayed in worse places !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

This was the last hotel of our trip through Ireland and it was by far the worst. Reception staff was very friendly and check in was quick. When we got into the room it was very noise as the window wouldn't close properly or wasn't very good and it was cold. It turned out the radiator wasn't working. After mentioning it to reception they bookd us quickly into a new room. The next room was still very noise, same issue with the windows but the radiator was working. The hotel is next to a very busy street. I am used to noise but the windows are not helping really with minimising the noise level. Wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank TheNewVentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

I was on a tour with Go Ahead Travel and this was the last hotel of our tour. Of all the hotels we were this was the worst. Rooms unkept, bugs in rooms, carpets with stains and frayed, smells bad. The mattress had a hole in it. The staff where curt, not friendly. The area not safe. I would never suggest this hotel to be part of a tour or even an overnight stay

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank yvonne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We had an overnight stay in the hotel because it was very convenient for a conference in the local Institute of Technology.
The reception was fine. The heat on the corridor was very intense. The room was comfortable and well finished (apart from the section of wooden laminate flooring inside the door which was lethal in barefeet or sock-feet). The bed was firm but comfortable. We slept with the heat off and the window open.
The bathroom was nice and well equipped but the bath towels were small.
The breakfast was not bad. Better than I had expected having read some of the reviews. We were among the first batch of guests down for breakfast and most of the hot food was hot (and tasty) - the tomatoes were cold and I couldn't decide whether they had been cooked or not - I thought not.
Staff were all friendly and while it wasn't up there with the best it certainly wasn't bad and it represented great value for money by Dublin standards. It was quite close to the Luas and convenient to the Square and to the IT. If I needed accommodation in Tallaght I would have no hesitation in going back - with realistic expectations!

Room Tip: We were on the third floor on a Friday night and it was quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gearoid O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tallaght
Glashaus Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tallaght
624 reviews
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
#2 of 4 in Tallaght
793 reviews
Ibis Dublin
#5 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 152 in Dublin
1,464 reviews
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#2 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Belgard Road 24, Tallaght, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Tallaght
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tallaght
Price Range: €56 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Plaza Hotel is a stylish modern hotel in South Dublin overlooking the spectacular views of the Dublin/Wicklow mountains. It is an ideal location to stay with shopping centres, boutiques, theatre, cinema, parks & sports arenas on your doorstep. The hotel is just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre & Dublin Airport. There is a choice of restaurants & bars on site. A warm friendly welcome & guaranteed standard of service and quality await. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Dublin
The Plaza Hotel Tallaght, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing