We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Springfield Hotel(Leixlip)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leixlip Manor Hotel and Gardens(Leixlip)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Court Yard Hotel(Leixlip)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Castleknock Hotel(Castleknock)(Great Value!)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moat Lodge(Lucan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,113 results
Traveller rating
491
340
151
60
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
340
151
60
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggarden suitelong drivewaycountry housepeacock restaurantleisure centrewedding venuedrawing roombar foodbeautiful hotelsteam roomgolf suitesbreakfast staffan overnight stayfamily roomdublin citystayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,113 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2018

We were a large group site seeing in the area, traveling by bus. We stayed Oct. 28-30, 2017. Aisling was wonderful in sorting all of us, allocating the rooms and explaining to all where to go. As leader of the group, she was so helpful answering my questions. The character of the hotel seemed much more like a Bed and Breakfast. Very personal. The old antiques were beautiful. Grounds were well groomed. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms were very spacious and clean. Would definitely book for a stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

My previous stays at Finnstown were for business, this time it was nice to return for a leisure break. I was seeking a suitable hotel in Dublin to take my mother on an overnight break and Finnstown Hotel was the perfect place.
We had a shopping trip to Liffey Valley and has a short drive to the hotel. The receptionist was very efficient and welcoming. This time I sought to stay in the castle and was accommodated in a very quite and comfortable room on the first floor. A short walk from the main hotel area but nice and peaceful. The room was of a good size, nicely decorated and clean. Tea and coffee making facilities too. I had previously stayed in the Garden Suites and found the rooms there to be of good standard too. We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant and even though the Hotel was very busy with a wedding party gathering for a wedding the next day, service was prompt and friendly. I required GF options. The menu looked limited but on asking I found that some of the dishes could be adapted. It would be nice to see more listed options. The food was very tasty and portions very generous. The restaurant is comfortable and nice area to relax. Our meal was most enjoyable and ended with a nice treat!
The bar area is big and consists of three or more rooms interlinked. Again service was prompt and friendly and we relaxed in the comfortable atmosphere. We had a comfortable sleep and found the room to be nice and quite although the hotel appeared to be full and very busy. Breakfast was busy as we choose to eat at approx 9am (busy time). However, staff were efficient and quickly cleared down tables as diners left and kept buffet refilled. There were hot and cold options and plenty of choice. We did not use the leisure facilities but had a nice stroll around the extensive grounds. On check out we met another friendly receptionist and service was prompt. Staff are friendly and helpful at Finnstown which is nice. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and will return.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as part of my brothers wedding party. On arrival the hotel looked amazing-long driveway with ostriches and llamas en route and a huge imposing building. The grounds were superbly maintained and it looked the perfect setting for a wedding.
We arrived very early and asked about the possibility of checking in. The friendly receptionist gave us a room on the second floor. The corridors can be a bit confusing due to different levels of the building but you soon get the hang of it. Our room was a very good size, very clean and warm. The furniture is old and well used and could be updated. The bathroom was very clean and had a shower and a bath. We ate dinner there that night and the food was superb-huge portions at a great price.
On the morning of the wedding my brothers and I went for a swim in the leisure centre. I have never visited a place like it. The changing room was no more than a draughty cupboard-peeling damp walls, crusty mats and a general unkemptness. The pool area itself was little better-the pool basin was heavily stained and looked very unclean. The steam room that was heavily advertised in the hotel was broken, it too looked very unclean. Every guest we spoke to said the same thing about the leisure centre. Given the high standards elsewhere in this 4 star hotel I cannot understand how they could let the leisure centre facilities deteriorate in this manner.
The wedding reception was superb-very attentive staff, plenty of hot food.
Breakfast was of a good standard with something for everyone. Check out was supposed to be 11am but the receptionist was very accommodating in letting us stay a little later if needed.
Overall, a beautiful setting for a family weddding-just needing a little TLC.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Tommy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

We can only report for the already renovated rooms, in the so called "Garden Suites",
which were clean, have quite some space and a really kingsize bed. The furniture looked old - on purpose, a really nice impression overall.

We had a really decent sleep in the hotel.

The looks of the estate, entrance, reception, restaurant, bar is plain and simply great.
The staff is friendly, room service ok. The employee serving breakfast was the most friendly i have ever met.

From the hotel you have all options to go explore Dublin to the north-east, wicklow and surrounding to the south/sout-east or the middle of ireland to west/ south-west.

Definetly worth a visit - regarding the experience we had in the garden suite.

Room Tip: Book a room in the garden suite
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Timothy_Scope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

Stayed here with work as an alternative to the usual, pleasant surprise, some excellent dL world charm remain8ng and the new extension is of good quality, rooms comfy, warm and quiet. Breakfast and evening meal good - nothing to rave about but no complaints. Will come back

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews