We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit”

1909 Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #3 of 29 Restaurants in Dalkey
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 November 2018

Many times I have passed this building in Dalkey, which in a former life was probably a bank but last week was the first time I actually went inside. We had visitors from UK and 1909 had been recommended and we weren;t disappointed.Having made the reservation 3 days earlier we were lucky to get the last table for the Saturday night.
There is a 2 course or 3 course menu for a set ,price up to 6.30 but after that the same menu goes up by 10euro.
The starters were good. Two of us had a large Yorkshire pudding filled with little pieces of beef and other stuff. Very tasty and filling. Two others had vegetarian mains and were very pleased. there was an excellent strip loin steak cooked to perfection while I had a chicken breast with excellent sauce. After that only one of our party could manage a dessert which if I am honest was disappointing having waited a very long time for it. a creme brulee.
The bill for 5 came to around 230euro which included a bottle of wine. Initially we found it very noisy apart from a pianist who played piano at the other end of the restaurant but was relayed up our end. We had to ask if the sound could be turned lower which it was and we enjoyed the rest of the evening.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank violet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018

***** five stars to Csaba, what a wonderful , friendly and extremely helpful waiter. House wine was ordered and told by another waiter it was no available and we could choose another one for 10 Euro a glass, which I feel was very expensive, and more or less take it or leave it, but Csaba came to the rescue and said because the house wine was not available we would only be charge the house price and rightly so. The food was lovely, service a bit slow to begin with but overall we had a great night. One of our party left her purse behind and one of the waiters came runnig out just as we were been collected to give it back, fair play to him. Lovely restaurant and lovely atmosphere.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Our fourth visit to 1909 and we felt that the food was as good as before but that the service was not good. Two beers were ordered but took 15 minutes to arrive. Salmon was described as being on a bed of crushed new potatoes. It was served without the potatoes. We asked and no apology was forthcoming and a serving of the potatoes arrived as the fish was being finished. Coffee was ordered. It had to be requested a second time. No engagement whatever by the waiter. Disappointing. There were several empty tables so no excuse.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank zoe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Four of us ate here last night and we all felt that it was our best meal in a long time. The monkfish with chorizo was lick the plate delicious and the goats cheese Wellington and the salmon were both excellent. The ambiance was warm and welcoming and the staff were just so nice. We all felt we had really good food and can’t wait to go back.

Date of visit: October 2018
3  Thank kane-04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

This is an excellent restaurant with great food and excellent service. My wife ate the Freshly Steamed Mussels followed by the Monkfish and Chorizo. I had the Baked Goats Cheese followed by the Trio of Wicklow Lamb. The food was cooked to perfection and the mains beautifully served. The portion size was surprisingly full for such fine dining. Recommended!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1909 Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Dalkey, County Dublin
 
Dalkey, County Dublin
Dalkey, County Dublin
 
Dalkey, County Dublin
 

Been to 1909 Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing