We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food!”

Wrights Anglers Rest
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Castleknock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$38
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Award winning bar, restaurant & wedding venue in the Strawberry Beds. Live traditional music 7 nights a week.
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We had a super meal after the rugby match- nice ambience with live Irish music. Would definitely go back!

Thank 48helen123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrightB_13, Director of Sales at Wrights Anglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post us a great review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed the food & atmosphere of the Anglers Rest. The open log fires and traditional Irish music every evening creates a welcoming & cosy feel, hope we will see you again soon. Kind Regards, Jennie Grogan, Sales jenny@wbg.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 1,142 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2018

Recently attended a wedding here. Lovely venue, far exceeding my expectations. All round 5 stars, drop by and see!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank pobthemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrightB_13, Director of Sales at Wrights Anglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Wow what a lovely review, 5 stars, thank you. I have to agree it is a stunning wedding venue with the beautiful shabby chic décor in the Phoenix Room creating a very old world romantic feel. I will pass on your comments to the lovely Noeleen our wedding coordinator & her team who look after all our brides & grooms so well. Its our privilege to host their weddings & we are happy to do whatever we can to ensure its a magical day. I hope that we will welcome you back again soon to dine in the restaurant which I know you will enjoy. We also have traditional Irish music every evening, this with the open log fires creates a cosy feel especially on these cold days. Best wishes, Jennie Grogan jenny@wbg.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Went here for a meal as we were celebrating so me good news. The food was outstanding as was the service. There was a waiter called Gabi?? Who was particularly attentive. A really special place and I will definitely be back.

Thank Doyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrightB_13, Director of Sales at Wrights Anglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thank you for your fantastic review & delighted you choose the Anglers Rest for your celebration. We pride ourselves on not only wonderful food but a warm & welcoming atmosphere. Gabi is our restaurant manager & Ill be sure to pass on your kind comments to him. All the staff at the Anglers go above & beyond to ensure all our guests have a great experience & it is a huge compliment that our business has grown through recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again soon & hope you got to enjoy the traditional Irish music we have every evening. Kind Regards, Jennie Grogan jenny@wbg.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

What can I say about this gem of Dublin. The food was tops the sevice was fast the atmosphere is second to none .

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank wescooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrightB_13, Director of Sales at Wrights Anglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. I'm delighted to see you enjoyed the Anglers Rest so much, it is a beautiful hidden gem in a stunning location on the banks of the Lifey yet minutes from the city. Appreciate the lovely feedback on the food & atmosphere, hope you got to stay & enjoy the traditional Irish music which we have every evening, this along with the log fires creates relaxed & cosy feel especially on a cold evening. Hope to see you again soon. If there is every anything I can do for you please do not hesitate in contacting me. Kind Regards, Jennie Grogan, Sales Manager jenny@wbg.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We hosted our wedding ceremony and reception at Angler's Rest in August 2017. Our experience was easy and fun from the moment we visited the Wedding Fair and met the Wedding Coordinator, Noeleen. We had our event on a Saturday but, despite a busy restaurant operating downstairs, we didn't hear a peep and felt that we had an exclusive venue all to ourselves. The staff were attentive and warm but not overly fussy. We were blessed with glorious weather but I feel that a wet/grey day would've been as romantic because of the ambiance of the place (fireplaces, candles, etc).

A few of the many perks:

1. A seriously relaxed and flexible approach/environment
2. Prompt and friendly communication
3. Recommendation of excellent vendors (our celebrant Romy McAuley is magic)
4. Our guests could decide on their meal on the day rather than in advance
5. They cater to dietary needs (no annoying request was refused)
6. We can go back any time we want to reminisce about our day over a meal and glass of wine
7. Competitive pricing
8. The food the food the food the food the food...

Over the past six months we have heard nothing but overwhelmingly positive remarks from our guests (who traveled from Canada, Sweden, England and locally). It was a place where we could be quintessentially "us", and make the day our own (rather than host a scripted prototype of a wedding). It was so very special and I can't fault a single thing. Our only regret is how fast the day flew by...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kwulff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrightB_13, Director of Sales at Wrights Anglers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you so much for your amazing review, it is wonderful to read how much both you & your family & friends enjoyed your special day. I have to agree, Noeleen & her team are fantastic, they do everything they can to ensure that your day is unforgettable. Its important to us that every couple has the wedding celebration they want & nothing is too much trouble. I really appreciate your feedback, we are delighted that your will have wonderful memories of your day in the Anglers Rest & it was our privilege to host your reception. I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff & management involved & we look forward to welcoming you back shortly. Very best in the future & if there is every anything I can do for you please do not hesitate in contacting me. Kind Regards, Jennie Grogan, Sales Manager jenny@wbg.ie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wrights Anglers Rest also viewed

Blanchardstown, County Dublin
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
 
Castleknock, County Dublin
Castleknock, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
 

Been to Wrights Anglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing