We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Property in Beautiful Location !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Carraig Gorm

South Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Terrace
Front of house LivingRoom2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
South Terrace
Front of house
LivingRoom2
Dining Area
LivingRoom
Kitchen
CarraigGormEnsuiteBedroom
Single Bedrooom
BedroomWestView
CarraigGormUpstairsBathroom
Landing
ViewfromLivingRoomSofa
Terrace in late Summer
CarraigGormFrontGarden
WildGardenOrchid
Lambs in the field
Carraig Gorm Gardend
LivingRoomView
St. John's Point
Donegal Sea Cliffs
Donegal Coast Blues
Donegal Coast
St.John's Pt. Dolphin Spot
DonegalBayWaterbus
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Laghey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
994coling
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Property in Beautiful Location !”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Quite simply - Carraig Gorm exceeded our expectations.

Although we were impressed enough to book a 7 night stay based on the photos online - to be honest they do not really do the house justice.

The property is of a very high standard, larger & more spacious than anticipated. On arrival we were greeted by Margo - who gave us a guided tour and had kindly prepared some home made scones & jam, superb !

Unfortunately It was a grey wet afternoon when we arrived but Margo had the 'Log Burner' going which made us feel at home straight away

This was our first holiday in the area. Margo gave us a few helpful pointers & there was ample useful info left in the house for us to look through. We are a family of 4 ( children 13 & 11 ).

The kids loved exploring the garden with its array of berry bushes, flowers & vegetable patch. Margo kindly allowed us to pull up some Lettuce to have with our BBQ

The house offered ample space for the 4 of us - it is the perfect house to use as a base to explore Donegal or just go and chill out.

We have already recommended 'Carraig Gorm' to our friends & look forward to staying there again at the earliest opportunity

Thank you Margo for making us very welcome & helping ensure we had a great family break in Donegal

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home from home
Liked least: Nothing - can't fault the house at all !
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoctorMac...
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all respects”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Margo greeted us upon are arrival and guided us through a lovely three bedroom - two bath vacation rental. It was beautifully furnished, complete with washer- dryer, cooking utensils , microwave etc. we could see the mountains and ocean from the patio. There is an abundance of flowers in the back yard and sheep outside the back yard fence. I would recommend Margo's rental without hesitation.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobby_Sol...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“I want to live here... Permanently....”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We came for the scones and stayed for the comfort. Margo greeted us on arrival with a basket of scones and all the fixins :-). They were fabulous. We are travelling around the world staying at vacation rentals wherever possible and I have to say that this is in the top two we have found so far. The property is very clean, neat and very comfortable. It has everything that you need for a long stay. These include, a quiet location, easy access to shops and some great restaurants, excellent WiFi, very good appliances and all the comforts of home. Donegal Town is just 5 km away and just down the road is the Salmon Inn. We spent a few evenings watching the sun set over the bay and even attended the local pig races at the Inn (although the pigs weren't available on the day so they raced sheep ... as you would in Ireland). Although the weather was quite wet during our stay we found plenty to do and places to see. Margo is a great host and we felt very welcomed and very comfortable during our two week stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The company of the host
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C-JMcE
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for rest and relaxation. A home from home.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I'm just back from a great week staying in Carraig Gorm. Margo was very welcoming and on hand if we needed anything. She even provided us with a welcome pack of fresh home made scones and milk and teabags. The gardens were lovey and a pleasure to sit out in. The kitchen was well equipped for any type of cooking. The rooms were comfortable and the views were lovely. I've already recommended this great house to family and would consider coming back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed, peaceful, comfortable house with great views.
Liked least: No dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SussexTri...
Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Carraig Gorm in early June and we had a fabulous time. On arrival we were taken into the lounge and were absolutely smitten with the view of the bay and the countryside from there. The property itself is lovely and we had such a great time there. You can just sit, enjoy the views and relax. Not far from Donegal town, an easy taxi ride, where we enjoyed a lovely meal in The Harbour Restaurant and a ride on the Waterbus. We would definitely come back if we are in the area again. Thanks Margo for a great welcome and assistance in contacting Bernard the taxi driver who was so helpful. We loved staying here at your lovely property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$87
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing