We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“this property is just quite brilliant,”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Wild Rose Cottage

Wild Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wild Rose Cottage
Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Wild Rose Cottage
Double bedroom
Port
Slieve League Cliffs - among the highest sea cliffs in Europe - 609 meters
Spring in Brentar Woods
Donegal Castle - Built by the O'Donnell Cheiftain in the 15th centuary
The open log fireplace
Maghera Beach
McSwynes Castle
St Johns Point Lighthouse
St John's Point
The Kitchen
Relaxing with a  glass on the Patio
In the Cottage garden
Winter in Dunkineely
The fishing port of Killybegs
St John's Point and Bruckless Bay
Assaranca waterfall near Ardara
Going for a walk at Murvagh
The second double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Dunkineely, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Billy W
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this property is just quite brilliant,”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Jennifer & Willie Mackey the property owners have just thought about everything for guests, we stayed for 4 very cosy nights at Wild Rose Cottage and it was perfect.
Jennifer & Willie are very hospitable and we enjoyed a great nights craic with them on our invitation.
We would highly recommend a stay at this old style Donegal cottage.-----just great!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick C
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wild Rose Cottage selfcatering holiday review”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely welcome from William and Jennifer Mackey. Plenty of walks on quiet country roads. Access to ancient culture and heritage with Megalithic tombs remembering to treat it with respect. St Johns point is a plus. Local well stocked shop only 700meters from the cottage. Larger supermarkets in Killybegs and and other towns like Donegal. Ardara is a lovely town to visit and Mageragh beach is impressive. The cliffs of slieve league are also recommended. The Mackeys have a good guide prepared about local amenities and beaches etc. I recommend your own transport either by car or bicycle which we saw many groups doing as they passed Dunkineely which is the local village where the cottage is located. Donegal is a very interesting county to visit. I Recommend to experience it once at least.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the real fire place
Liked least: weather wasnt always compliant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg072
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A perfect Irish Cottage”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I have been touring the world for the last eleven years since retiring and 'Wild Rose Cottage' proved to be one of the most perfect spots that we have stayed.

The cottage is set in charming Irish countryside and was superbly quiet during our five night stay.

My wife also thought that the cottage was one of the most comprehensively supplied holiday accommodations that we had ever stayed in with every implement and gadget that one could desire on hand.

The double bed is wonderfully comfortable, the cottage is warm and has both central heating and an open fire, the wifi service provided by way of a mini modem is excellent and one has available a full range of English TV stations.

Both owners Jennifer and Willie are friendly and helpful and live just one house away so are available should one have any problems.

For food and household needs there is a branch of Supervalu stores only ten minutes drive away just outside Killybegs. Killybegs also has a fresh fish van which parks at the side of the main road through Killybegs and sells excellent fresh fish at great prices.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and such a well equiped cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter C
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hospitality by Willie and Jennifer in one of the most beautiful parts of Ireland!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Willie and Jennifer really looked after us my brother and I we were catching up with cousins and mates from high school in the local area for a stag do. The cottage is in a great location in Dunkineely and has all the amenities you would need. The local pubs in the area were amazing and filled with the friendliest people you'd ever meet. The best part of the entire holiday other then the immaculate condition of the cottage was the great communication by Willie and Jennifer to ensure we enjoyed our stay in Donegal.

Pete Caltabiano

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The electric blankets in all the beds were a great touch it was freezing!
Liked least: The way my head felt the next morning after a long night of drink!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgfoods
Whitefish, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint and perfectly furnished!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Wild Rose Cottage! Every tiny detail had been thought out. Jennifer had a great eye for decorating. Willie was very friendly and made us feel most welcome. We also enjoyed the local pub, Mary Mullins. The gent who runs it was very helpful and entertaining and the food was outstanding. Salmon, cod and mussells in a creamy saffron sauce! Yummy! We would definately stay there again and recommend it to our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcoming cupcakes and the thought of leaving us milk for our coffee.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$82
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing