We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Terrific Cottage in a Quiet Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Finn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballybofey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

geumtrifl...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific Cottage in a Quiet Location”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We loved staying in this cottage for a week in March. The cottage is warm, well furnished and very comfortable. The kitchen is a dream to cook in, as it has everything we need and more, this is one of the best equipped kitchens we have ever had in a vacation rental. The cottage has a well thought out floor plan and every modern convenience is provided. The bed was extremely comfortable and thus, we slept very well. The WiFi was very fast and very reliable, which is something that is important to us when we travel. The location is wonderful, as it is quiet, surrounded by trees and provides easy access to the roads to travel in Co. Donegal. Marion is a joy to deal with, as she is very communicative and has a relaxed approach. We cannot praise Co. Donegal enough, it is a stunning landscape and the people are absolute gems, they are so friendly and the service provided is unsurpassed. Be sure to drop into the Hatter Tea Room in nearby Stranorlar, where the service is great and the cappuccino is one of the best, and we drank plenty over our five weeks of travel in Ireland. We highly recommend a stay at River Finn Cottage, do not hesitate to book, as this cottage is outstanding.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for the wonderful review, I'm delighted that you had such a great experience. We work hard to ensure our Guests have everything they need for an enjoyable stay and it makes it so worthwhile when we get such a great review, thank you again for staying with us and I hope to see you again in the future.
Kindest Regards
Marion Noonan (River Finn Cottage).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We had a lovely stay at River Finn cottage. Everything we could possibly have needed was provided. Marion and husband Sean were incredibly helpful and very welcoming. We will definitely visit again. Thank you

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for the lovely review and we very much look forward to your next visit.
Best regards
Marion & Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheekychu...
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here for 5 days during the summer.. Marion the owner was friendly and called over midweek to check if we needed anything , the holiday home was down a private Lane and next-door Marion's own home . The house was fresh and clean with everything we needed . We travelled to donegal and letterkenny for sightseeing and shopping, there isn't much to see or do in the village but the house provides a great Base, the main attractions are not too far away in either direction .

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2016
Thank you for the kind review, I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timmii81
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

When we arrived we got a worm welcome. Worm is a good word because the house was heated when we got there. Perfect location, just off the main street in the quiet area. Kids loved the bunk beds and we loved whole house. Marion, the owner of the property, is lovely lady and very helpful.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, I like to make sure the Cottage is warm and cosy on Guest arrival, nothing worse than waiting for a house to heat up. So glad you and the Children enjoyed your stay, I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Marion,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Such a spacious, clean and very inviting cottage to stay at. Beautifully decorated with ample space to sleep up to 7 people. Will most definitely be back.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious it was
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and I look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Ireland
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Ireland. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.