We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill service”

La Carreta Resturant
Ranked #36 of 268 Restaurants in Kingsport
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 October 2018 via mobile

We used to frequent this location all the time. Lately though, it really hasn't been good at all. Service was lacking today. We never got a refill on drinks. We also didn't get anymore chips. We will probably start frequenting another Mexican style restaurant in the future.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank MomiTo3Boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2018

Good food at a budget price. The ambiance of the place is fun and relaxing all at once. It was an awesome recommendation from our hotel.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Josee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We had salsa (could be spicier though had some sauces we could doctor with on the table) and chips along with great draft Dos Equis beer to start. We ordered shrimp fajitas which came promptly and piping hot, with hot tortillas wrapped in foil with a bottle of liquid parkay on top (we didn't ask proper use but each table with tortillas also received). The flavor was okay and the shrimp was tender but there was something missing, it wasn't special. Salad was crisp and we ordered the Mexican version (chunkier) of guacamole which also was not very flavorful. Our server, Veronica was lovely, attentive and friendly without being intrusive and we were served efficiently without being rushed. The decor is party like with all the riot of colors in the furniture but the atmosphere is less so. There are several Mexican restaurants near by and will likely try some others before returning, but would use this as a decent back up if cannot get in elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Happyvisitor106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

We have eaten at this restaurant chain for a long time, but decided to try the location on Eastman Road, as it was closer proximity for a family of 10. My daughter requested to celebrate her birthday there (on a Sunday afternoon) and it wasn’t crowded. The wait was ridiculous for our food, forgot part of our order several times as well as who ordered what. We had to switch the hot plates, ask for extra silverware, drinks were not refilled nor offered, the food was cold and bland. They were unable to do any birthday singing even though they knew ahead of time, nor did they offer desert. This has never happened to us at a LaCarretta. I enquired to some of the apathetic “Caucasian” staff about some of the superb always smiling Hispanic staff that we were use to getting great service from. It seems that none of them are no longer working there anymore?!? I suppose we can just take our $ elsewhere.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank zjah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

I love Mexican food and have never eaten any that was bad...until we went here! What a disappointment. I really hated we wasted money eating here. I ordered a steak tacos entrée. The tacos were stuffed with meat, which could be a good thing, but you had to add the lettuce, tomato, etc. yourself. I asked for no cheese because I don't like queso and the refried beans came out with melted queso. The only thing that was good there was the chips and salsa...and that could have been because we were hungry.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fallen2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Carreta Resturant also viewed

 

Been to La Carreta Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing