We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad the antique store went out of business!”

The Factory at Franklin
Ranked #14 of 69 things to do in Franklin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Built in 1929, The Factory occupies the buildings that once served as the Dortch Stove Works, Magic Chef and later the Jamison Bedding Company. A member of the National Register of Historic Places, The Factory is rich with history and a very careful renovation has preserved many of The Factory's original features and architectural details. Calvin bought the sprawling complex seven years ago and, after an environmental clean-up, began opening the facility in sections. Today, The Factory at Franklin has 83 tenants. Imagine that factory coming alive with concerts, dining, shopping, meetings, live theatre, art galleries, decorators' showcases, antiques and offices. Our unique facility can serve all this and more. Take a look at The Factory in its days as a bustling, working factory, then embark on a photographic tour of its renovation and transformation to the diverse and vibrant shopping and entertainment complex it is today.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We have stopped here for many years, primarily to go to the antique store. However, on this trip, they were having an auction and closing the store. The cute children's shop is also closed. It appears to be more of a artsy and amateur entertainment facility now.

Thank Gma4198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback, and we are disappointed to hear that your experience was not all you hoped it would be. We hope you will choose to come back and give some of our new attractions a chance! We hope you have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"farmers market"
in 27 reviews
"unique shops"
in 17 reviews
"pottery shop"
in 4 reviews
"paint pottery"
in 3 reviews
"donuts"
in 7 reviews
"food vendors"
in 3 reviews
"local artists"
in 6 reviews
"interesting place to visit"
in 4 reviews
"unique items"
in 5 reviews
"great place to shop"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 7 reviews
"shops and restaurants"
in 6 reviews
"walk around"
in 4 reviews
"jamison"
in 3 reviews
"vinyl"
in 4 reviews
"repurposed"
in 5 reviews
"shoppers"
in 4 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is a multi-use venue with restaurants and varied entertainment. I've attended a musical dinner night there and it was fun. Also inside is the Five Daughters Bakery.
This time I went on a Saturday morning to check out the farmers market which happens 52 Saturdays a year. Lots of family fun and huge queues for the most popular places. Worth a visit for any reason!

3  Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

We appreciate this wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner with us, as well as Five Daughters Bakery! We appreciate you coming by to enjoy our farmers market, and are pleased that you would love to come back and see us, for any reason! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Cute shops and great food selection. Definitely worth a visit. The BBQ restaurant was amazing and our sons chicken and waffles looked delicious.

Thank jpbiwer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review! We are so glad that your experience with us was 5-star. Thank you for coming to enjoy our restaurants and factory! We hope to see you all again soon. Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

The Factory at Franklin has space and promise. An unexpected and delightful find was Artisan Guitars where one of the owners spent 20 minutes showing us their incredible collection of guitars! NOT a place for children who can't "look but not touch", though a wonderful venue to admire excellent artisanal work! The owners couldn't have been nicer!

1  Thank Marin1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoy your visit and that you were able to find shops in The Factory that you liked so much. We can't wait to have you back to explore all of our other shops and events that we offer! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We went here based on the reviews. Maybe should have come on a Saturday instead of a Monday. The mall was open but at least half the stores were closed, and no signs with hours or explanation as to why they were closed. I saw a lot of nice things through the windows and would have spent some money here, but...

1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for the review, we appreciate your feedback. We always have new shops opening up and you can always check out our events page and join us for one of our many events! We hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Factory at Franklin also viewed

 

Been to The Factory at Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing