We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artisan Guitars is worth a visit!”

The Factory at Franklin
Ranked #11 of 42 things to do in Franklin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Built in 1929, The Factory occupies the buildings that once served as the Dortch Stove Works, Magic Chef and later the Jamison Bedding Company. A member of the National Register of Historic Places, The Factory is rich with history and a very careful renovation has preserved many of The Factory's original features and architectural details. Calvin bought the sprawling complex seven years ago and, after an environmental clean-up, began opening the facility in sections. Today, The Factory at Franklin has 83 tenants. Imagine that factory coming alive with concerts, dining, shopping, meetings, live theatre, art galleries, decorators' showcases, antiques and offices. Our unique facility can serve all this and more. Take a look at The Factory in its days as a bustling, working factory, then embark on a photographic tour of its renovation and transformation to the diverse and vibrant shopping and entertainment complex it is today.
Reviewed 24 March 2018

The Factory at Franklin has space and promise. An unexpected and delightful find was Artisan Guitars where one of the owners spent 20 minutes showing us their incredible collection of guitars! NOT a place for children who can't "look but not touch", though a wonderful venue to admire excellent artisanal work! The owners couldn't have been nicer!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Marin1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoy your visit and that you were able to find shops in The Factory that you liked so much. We can't wait to have you back to explore all of our other shops and events that we offer! Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"farmers market"
in 29 reviews
"unique shops"
in 17 reviews
"pottery shop"
in 4 reviews
"paint pottery"
in 3 reviews
"donuts"
in 8 reviews
"food vendors"
in 3 reviews
"every saturday"
in 3 reviews
"local artists"
in 6 reviews
"interesting place to visit"
in 4 reviews
"unique items"
in 5 reviews
"great place to shop"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 7 reviews
"art galleries"
in 4 reviews
"walk around"
in 5 reviews
"shops and restaurants"
in 6 reviews
"stove"
in 14 reviews
"jamison"
in 3 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

We went here based on the reviews. Maybe should have come on a Saturday instead of a Monday. The mall was open but at least half the stores were closed, and no signs with hours or explanation as to why they were closed. I saw a lot of nice things through the windows and would have spent some money here, but...

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for the review, we appreciate your feedback. We always have new shops opening up and you can always check out our events page and join us for one of our many events! We hope to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

This was an old factory that has been rehabbed into an innovative shopping and meeting venue. It is not nearly full yet, but it has potential. The eating booths are upscale/neat - including a bakery, an ice cream shop, and a "juice" sho!p (you must try this one). There is a large auditorium, and two full service restaurants (one open and one about to open). A separate activity, located right behind is a farmer's market - definitely worth a stop!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Anbrugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for the great review! We are so glad that you enjoy our shopping and events venue, and that you like all of our food options! We can't wait to have you back for an event, have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

It's fun, artistic and they have great conference room options that have flavor and variety. It was great for a film conference. And you have neat shops and restaurants around to explore during breaks. It has a really cool vibe.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank mikki777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review! We are so glad that you had fun during your conference and also enjoyed all of our shops and restaurants. We look forward to having you back for another conference!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

The Factory at Franklin is a smaller sized shopping mall but it offers some real unique stores, coffee shops, and donuts. I love 5 Daughters donuts, they are incredible. There is also a big chair to sit in for a photo op, and a lovely antique shop. Unfortunately the antique shop will be closing at the end of March. They have a lot of 50% off sales right now. Check it out before it disappears.

Parking is available for free in the lot. A lot of stores are closed on Sunday, but the coffee shop, and 5 Daughters are open. There is a nice place to relax at the front entrance. There are leather couches, tables, and chairs. It’s a good place to wait for someone if you don’t appreciate shopping or catch up with some friends.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank RamonaL34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie J, Manager at The Factory at Franklin, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thanks for the great review! We are happy to see that you have a wonderful time shopping with us and enjoying all of our different stores, and have a good time hanging out with your friends or family. We constantly have new shops joining us and we can't wait to have to back to explore everything else!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Factory at Franklin also viewed

 

Been to The Factory at Franklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing