We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
President James K. Polk Home & Museum
Open today: 09:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Lesser known historical venue but worth a look

Polk did not live in the house after age 21, but it's the only house left that he lived in, apart... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gust829
,
New York
Informative Tour

We had an excellent tour guide who not only showed us around but introduced us to the US's 11th... read more

Reviewed 4 November 2018
Calvin8
,
Marietta
Read all 187 reviews
  
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
125
52
8
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
125
52
8
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews white house his wife small museum our tour guide his life president james great tour next door gift shop great visit well worth the visit history buff period pieces united states on display original furnishings three months
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2016 via mobile

A very distant relative to my Mother's side of the family. The tour is well worth the hour it took to get through the 2 houses. The guide was exceptional and answered all our questions. Educational for all ages.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank anthonybD3868YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016

One of the most enjoyable and informative tours we have taken. Learned so much about an often overlooked presidency.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank billpearljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

After living in Spring Hill, TN for almost 12 years (and a Middle Tennessee native) I took the opportunity to finally visit a special and historic Presidential home in Columbia, TN, The James K. Polk House. One of three Presidents from the State of Tennessee, James K. Polk proved to be one of the most admired and effective Presidents of the United States!
Situated just a couple of blocks off the square in Columbia, TN on W 7th Street the Polk home sits well preserved much as it would have been during the time the family lived there from 1816 on. The docent leading the tour has many fascinating stories and insights to the time period the Polk family lived there, Presidential life and the progress of the United States under President Polk. This beautiful sight allows as much time as the visitor requires to tour the museum portion, watch the opening 12 minute film, take the guided walk through the house and gardens and also allowing for the extra optional exhibit “West to Prosperity: The Polk Home at 200.” It is by no means overwhelming or difficult; this is a perfect family, couples or group outing where one can learn, be on the move and then linger or be on to your chosen destination.
For those who take day trips to small towns, set aside some time to spend walking the square in Columbia. There are some good restaurants and shops to occupy a few hours on your journey! See some of my reviews on TripAdvisor!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Friendly staff, was a little different than expected. From the outside it doesn't look like much. But once inside, it is furnished with actual furniture from the time Polk lived there. Actually pretty nice. And some furnishings that was once in the White House which he bought himself. Overall a nice visit to this house. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Polk's house is not as large as some other Presidential homes, but it still had several neat artifacts, including one of his suits. The tour guide was very informative. The movie in the visitor's center wasn't great, but wasn't the worst we had seen. The extra exhibit in the Polk Presidential Hall wasn't really worth it, IMO.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank jennifer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews