We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD SOUTHERN FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bea's Restaurant

Bea's Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 826 Restaurants in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$6
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“GOOD SOUTHERN FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

This is the restaurant to go. The fried chicken is the best!! Everything is good. I just don't like sharing the table with strangers but the lazy susan style of serving food is a great idea.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank fujijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    74
    24
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best chicken in town--get ready to eat a lot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Arguably the best chicken recipe in town. Sit down at a family-style format with "lazy-Susan" table service. Go hungry and be prepared to eat a lot! It is all-you-can-eat, and, although expensive, you DO get a lot of food!

Helpful?
Thank MeGusta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just Dig In!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Just go.
You will most likely be sat at a table with total strangers, with the food in the middle of the table on a lazy susan. Go. It will be worth it.
You may think you're lost once you've made it about half-way there from the Interstate. Go. It will be worth it.
You may want a menu in your hands and a cutely-named appetizer list. Go. It will be worth it.
The best, and I do mean BEST, home-style buffet I've been to ANYWHERE.

Helpful?
Thank ManicMuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northport, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like my grandmother's for Sunday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

It's like stepping back in time - from the decor to the waitress uniforms. The food was awesome - it reminded me so much of going to my grandmother's for Sunday Dinner. I really enjoyed the family-style dining experience. I appreciated never having to ask our waitress for anything. At. All. She was on the ball. And I definitely feel like we got our money's worth. 4 of us ate for around $45.

When we ate - there was chicken & dumplings, fried chicken, BBQ pork, pinto beans, cole slaw, potato salad, boiled potatoes, fried okra, rolls/cornbread, and peach cobbler. The food flowed like water - we had to tell the waitress to stop bringing us food after a while, as we would feel badly should it go to waste.

We left full. Almost uncomfortably full.

And I'll definitely make this a must-stop place on any future visits to Chattanooga.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taxman1120S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long Time Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I remember going to Bea's when I was a child circa 1953-55. It hasn't changed much in the quailty, atmolsphere or style. A place where you may be seated at one of the large community tables with people from many different places. And it's okay to visit with them as long as they are willing. When visiting Chattanooga Bea's is always on the "want to go there" list of things to do.
All one has to do is say "Lets go to Bea's" and my 87 year old mother is ready to go!!
Yes, good food, atmosphere and a unique dining experience. The food just keeps coming!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stjogun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bea's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bea's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing