We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms were disappointing.”
Review of The Chattanoogan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Chattanoogan
Ranked #6 of 96 Hotels in Chattanooga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rooms were disappointing.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here as part of their Valentines day package. Their restaurant the Broad Street Grill was great, their spa is OK, and the rooms were disappointing. No refrigerator, the tv kept making horrible sounds, and the shower head was terrible. We requested a courtyard room and didn't get one, which is ok because the landscaping was pretty much non exsistent. This hotel is also not within walking distance of anything remotely interesting. We are Chattanooga residents and wanted to see what all the hype was about, but were pretty disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaMHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
We value feedback from our guests both constructive and complimentary. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your Valentines dinner, however saddened to see how disappointed you were with the hotel. We are in the process of replacing our shower heads, and do hope you will consider staying here again.
Thank you for taking the time to write.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    305
    139
    57
    44
See reviews for
292
379
35
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I spent several days at The Chattanoogan and found it to be an enjoyable experience. The facility is lovely and very well maintained. Food services were good but there are a variety of less expensive, and just as good, dining spots in the immediate area. The indoor pool and exercise facility were a welcome relief to the cold winter weather; and the Spa services were first rate. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone as it is a well run facility with an excellent staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed your time at our spa and experiencing Chattanooga.
Thank you so much for sharing about your visit.
Please come back and stay with us soon.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

My fiance' and I recently stayed at The Chattanoogan for a brief overnight trip. We chose the hotel due to it's location to several restaurants and easy access. The hotel is extremely large and does it's best to provide everything you could need during a stay. We ordered room service before heading out to dinner and our drinks and appetizer were delicous and the presentation was more than I expected. We were also able to enjoy the hotel bar/lounge that had a live jazz band playing that night until 12:30am. We loved being able to come back to the hotel after a late dinner and enjoy another cocktail. The rooms are nice but not as luxurious as the pictures seem on the internet. However, for the price per night you really can't beat the value. There were a lot of events going on that night and the hotel was packed but the staff did an amazing job making sure everything seemed organized and to keep their pleasant demeanor. I would defnitely recommend this hotel if you are ever passing through the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Atlantabelle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
First let me say Congratulations on your engagement!
Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you and your fiancé had a wonderful visit. I will be sharing your comments with our staff; they will be happy to read that you were pleased. We have live music every Friday and Saturday night , so on your return visit you can join us in The Foundry for more entertainment.

Thank you
Laura Batchelor '
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix, maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was our first stay at the Chattanoogan and will not be our last. The hotel is modern and beautifully decorated. The staff could not be more attentive. The hotel is within walking distance of some of the best shops and restaurants in Chattanooga. We will definitely recommend the hotel to all of our travelling friends!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thank you for being our guest and I am thrilled that you had a wonderful visit. I will be sharing your comments with our staff; they will be happy to read that you were pleased.
We look forward to your return visit!
Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here on the 20 th January 2012. The hotel is clean and the staff very experience yet not jaded as sometimes happens with knowledgeable staff. The room had a fridge and king size bed and was comfortable and clean the view was nothing to speak of. We went for dinner in their dining room and was pleased they had a nightly 3 course special $29.00 each, the waiter was an elderly gentleman and thoroughly acquainted with the wine list the meal was excellent with a few chef specialties nice surprise. Parking is covered above ground with head room for large SUV's etc. . $8 self park or $14 valet, with in/out privileges. The day we arrived it was raining and the lobby had a large gas fire place very warn and comfortable feeling when you enter the hotel. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Try their dinner 3 course special
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northknight3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraBatchelor, Manager at The Chattanoogan, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
I was happy to read that you felt so comfortable at The Chattanoogan, as it is our goal to make all of our guests feel at home. Hearing how you enjoyed the talents of our culinary staff, and our wait staff was wonderful and I have shared your comments with our Director of Food & Beverage. We truly feel our employees are our greatest asset.
My thanks for your thoughtful compliment about your stay.

Laura Batchelor
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chattanooga hotels
0.6 km away
The Read House Historic Inn And Suites
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chattanooga / Downtown
1.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chattanooga Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Chattanooga Choo Choo
Chattanooga Choo Choo
#38 of 96 in Chattanooga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Chattanooga Downtown
14.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chattanooga/Hamilton Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chattanoogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chattanoogan

Property: The Chattanoogan
Address: 1201 Broad St, Chattanooga, TN 37402-2708
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Tennessee > Chattanooga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Chattanooga
#2 Business Hotel in Chattanooga
#9 Family Hotel in Chattanooga
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chattanooga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chattanoogan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chattanoogan offers upscale amenities and service. Decor and interiors are Post-modern industrial, playing up on the unique industrial heritage of Chattanooga in a modern, eclectic fashion. The property features all-original, regional art, specifically commissioned for The Chattanoogan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chattanoogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Hotel Chattanooga
Chattanoogan Chattanooga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing