We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Hotels.com
US$89
US$71
View deal
SAVE US$18
Expedia.com
US$89
US$71
View deal
SAVE US$18
Trip.comUS$89
PricelineUS$72
FindHotelUS$77
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
41
25
16
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
41
25
16
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2019

This is at 31 Tankavaaranite close to the Gold Prospector Museum at 11 Tankavaarantie. This has accomodation in authentic wilderness cabins that reflect the simple living of the gold prospectors, and more modern apartments. There is also a Old Gold Prospector restaurant.

Room tip: The apartments have more amentities,but the cabins reflect the old days
Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2019 via mobile

This was basically a lunch stop while on the road but turned out to be quite interesting. Gold was actually discovered here in the 1930s by the Sami (Laplanders) so the site is set up like an old gold mining village with very rustic buildings. We got to try reindeer meat for the first time at their restaurant, we panned for gold, and visited their museum. The history of Finnish gold was well covered along with information about gold in over 20 other countries. There is also a mineral and stone collection. Something different to enjoy!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lobstaluva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

The cabins and area is very nice and cozy, theyre cute and the fireplace is a huge bonus. The aesthetic is very rustic and pleasant. The sauna was incredible, shared bathrooms and showers were clean enough. It is an excellent place to view the northern lights and to access the nearby Saariselkä area. The staff is incredibly friendly. Reindeer feeding was super fun and cute.

The bar area could use some music and the food was, well, not amazing, especiallu considering the proice range. Also, the bar is only open until 9pm even though they advertise being open until 2am, which was a bit of a buzzkill, but not that big of a deal.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kristiina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2019 via mobile

The experience of living in #wilderness is just #unforgetable. Away from any distraction, city pressures, technology, noise and other stress. It was really relaxing, calming and mind blowing new ambiance for both of us. Everyone is just so friendly and helpful specially @munttu and the lady who went with us for #snowshoeing, always prepares our breakfast and made me a "sunny side up eggs" Also special thanks to Marco for some complimentary blueberry vodka shots last Christmas eve.
Thank you for such a magical white #finnish #Christmas experience in #lapland. @goldvillagelapland
We hope to see you again soon

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank PatCRITICia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

Booked a 5 day trip for my son and daughters birthday. Not the usual holiday for us, but absolutely blew us away.
We just so happened to be the only guests staying there at the time but it made no difference to us. Although there wasn't much to do in the area given the time of year, it didn't stop us having the most amazing time.
Just a short bus ride away, at the ski resort, we managed to book a day out at the reindeer farm (which my daughter age 3 loved). We also took a walk to the gold museum and panned for gold.
Lots of fantastic scenery and places to walk...the national park is not far away by foot at all.

The wooden cabin was really nice and spacious. The fire pit was our saviour on the really cold nights.
Separate toilet and shower block, which I thought would be a bit of an issue at first, but it was a stones throw away from our cabin so wasn't a problem. There was also a communal kitchen to use.. There is a supermarket at the ski resort which we used. Also there is an amazing restaurant on site.. A little pricey but totally worth it. Not a great deal of choice for a toddler, but Its to be expected really.
All the staff were absolutely brilliant. Couldnt do enough for you and always had a smile for us.
This place is the perfect spot to see the aroura, unfortunately we were not blessed with clear skies.. Which is a shame.
We will defo be back tho... Possibly in the spring so we can go bear watching.

Thank you to every one there for making our stay truely memorable

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 995samanthab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews