We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (602)
Filter reviews
602 results
Traveller rating
496
88
13
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
496
88
13
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews borrowdale gates lake district dining room high standard first class lovely hotel excellent food evening meal beautiful location many years nothing is too much trouble bird feeders lovely view attention to detail red squirrels superior room sunday lunch
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 602 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a wonderful stay here. A fantastic room looking out over the valley. Most comfortable. The staff were great and nothing was too much for them to sort out without any fuss. The hotel has a really terrific position and the views are superb.
Compliments to the Chef for the wonderful food and to all the waiting staff.
We had to postpone our visit because of the onset of shingles and a big thank you therefore to the reception staff for re-arranging it for us.

What more can I say? A super hotel with a great position and a wonderful caring staff.

Room Tip: One of the suites
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TheLodger77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borrowdalegates, General Manager at The Borrowdale Gates Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear TheLodger77

Many thanks for your 5 star review and your thanks to the team here. We are always flexible with moving bookings and were more than happy to help, glad you became well enough to stay with us in one of the most beautiful valleys in the Lake District.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind Regards
Sue Willan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've stayed at this hotel several times and can highly recommend it. In fact I'm going back again in 3 weeks for a 2 week stay - can't wait! The staff are always friendly, helpful and efficient; the food is always fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steveP9324BQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borrowdalegates, General Manager at The Borrowdale Gates Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Steve
Thank you for your wonderful review and so nice to have you back with us! Hope we continue being a place that you would highly recommend. I will pass on the highlights of your stay to all the team here.
Kind Regards
Sue Willan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018

We have stayed a few times in the past, but some years ago. We've always enjoyed coming here and were apprehensive that things might have changed. Well, we needn't have worried - every aspect of our stay lived up to expectation - rooms, staff, restaurant, even the weather! We won't leave it so long till we come again!

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borrowdalegates, General Manager at The Borrowdale Gates Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear TomNorthYorkshire,
Thank you for your 5 star review. It was lovely to have you stay with us again and to know that the things you enjoy about us haven't changed. The Borrowdale Valley is a stunning place, even better when the sun shines on us.
Will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Sue Willan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

A comfortable relaxing stay in a comfortable room.Cared for by reliable and friendly staff in all areas, nothing was too much trouble. The food choices were very good & of an excellent quality. A fine dining experience. The best part of our stay was being there.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank briansimart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borrowdalegates, General Manager at The Borrowdale Gates Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear briansimart,
Wow! what a super review, ticks all the boxes. I would just like to thank you on behalf of the team here and hope to see you again soon.
Sue Willan (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Hotel is in a picturesque small village. Warm welcome, nice rooms and good ensuites and wonderful food, the restaurant has great views across the valley. Plenty of good walks from the hotel. Such a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jnadundas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borrowdalegates, General Manager at The Borrowdale Gates Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear jnadundas,
We are in a truly beautiful location. Glad you found the rooms to your liking and the food, we are lucky to have such a passionate team of Chefs in the kitchen using local produce makes all the difference.
All in all a prefect place to recharge the batteries!
Sue Willan (General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews