We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food and downtown location.”

Tally's Silver Spoon
Ranked #3 of 268 Restaurants in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$33
Cuisines: American, European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Fine dining born out of a local favorite classic diner in historic downtown Rapid City. Tally's Silver Spoon is the project restaurant of Benjamin Klinkel, chef and owner. Dubbed a "fine diner", Benjamin aims to bring together the worlds of comfort food and fine dining, sophistication and comfort. An atmosphere where cherry pie and foie gras co-exist. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner Monday through Sunday.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome food and downtown location.”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

The breakfast is incredilbe. Try the french toast. To Die For!

Helpful?
Thank Jeri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    259
    74
    39
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Feel like you're in France in Rapid City!!!!”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The chef is always changing things up and suprising us with such wonderful things. Be sure and ask about their homemade ice cream sampler.

Helpful?
Thank Whereismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spangdahlem, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The Best of the Midwest!”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Tally's came recommended when we couldn't get short-notice reservations somewhere else, and am I glad it happeded that way!
The atmosphere is cool and neutral, browns and blues complement. Large perimeter windows give a nice view of downtown Rapid and the Hotel Alex Johnson across the street, and there are booths, table, and bar seating areas.
Serving style is along the french school, plates/silverware removed and replaced between courses for a clean start each time, personnel extremely courteous.
Tally's offers a good selection of local and international wines from most categories, though most of what I've tried there are whites. I admit to being partial to sweet, and my bottle of Moscato d'Asti was fantastic.
And ohhhh, the food! The menu is small, but . . .
Appetizers with just enough delicacy to be whimsical, but just enough portion size and solidity to do more than tease; salads with sneaky flavorful ingredients hidden in every nook, and rich, playfully-named main courses that flow and dance on the tongue.
Desserts are inventive and provocative as well.
If you are lucky enough to attend while this particular option is still on the menu, you must try the bread beforehand. It's served in the italian style (with olive oil and balsamic vinegar for dipping) but with different ingredients: blackberries, honey and butter caramelized together until it settles in the same way.
Tally's is fantastic--make this your first choise in Rapid City if you enjoy fine dining!
I personally recommend: Crabby beet ravioli, Spaghetti carbonara, Root beer bison, and Whiskey in a jar torte.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeExpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Rapid City, SD”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Wow, I wish I had visited Tally's before. I have lived and visited here for over 15 years but never tried the restaurant. Food is wonderful; service is exceptional; very clean, great coffee and varied breakfast menu. My friends, spouse and myself were very satisfied with our selections. Definitely #1 choice. Have to go back for lunch and dinner so will post that experience later.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Retiredtraveler2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Tapawingo, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast at noon!”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We went here with our 8 year old son and friends from Rapid City! We had slept late on a Sat, but wanted breakfast - we were not disappointed! Waffles were excellent, as we're the pancakes and omellets. They were busy, but service was great. Our friends from Rapid had not been there, but are planning to go back. Great breakfast at noon!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tally's Silver Spoon also viewed

 

Been to Tally's Silver Spoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing