We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appearance isn't everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gerry's Budget Host
Ranked #1 of 2 Kennebec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2016

There isn't a lot of choice when you stay in Kennebec, but I was very happy with Gerry's. I travel alone so feeling secure is important to me. The area that this little motel is in isn't landscaped, it's just a big gravelly, dusty area, so it seems mildly sketchy, but the woman at the desk (Gerry?) was so pleasant, I felt very much at ease. The room is very basic, but then again, so is the price. But most important, it was CLEAN. No stains on the carpet, no little pieces of leftover crackers anywhere. It was quiet, and I slept great. The breakfast the next morning far exceeded my expectations, too. It was quite complete (I was expecting cereal and toast). They had homemade breakfast sandwiches, a skillet of hash browns with cheese and some eggs, pancakes, and assorted other foods. Absolutely delicious. The next night I stayed at a larger chain hotel that was twice the cost but that had half the cleanliness and a breakfast that didn't even begin to match up to this one. I would happily stay at Gerry's again.

Room Tip: Very accessible to the freeway. CLEAN rooms. Great breakfast onsite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Martha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2016

The room was exceptionally clean, the room comfortable and the owners welcoming at both the motel and the bar for a burger and steak bites. The excellent breakfast the next morning was included and the best free breakfast of our trip by far. We liked so much, we tried to work it to stay again on our way home, but alas, the timing didn't work out. Highly recommend this friendly mom and pop run establishment.

Room Tip: We had the lower level corner room. No noise from any room or outside. Parking at the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank thbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Needed a place to stop on our way to Yellowstone. Based on prior reviews, we decided on Gerry's. While just a small motel, the room was very comfortable as well as the king bed - comfort plus! Room was very clean and provided the basic toiletries, i.e., soap & shampoo. There was no blow dryer but I had my own. Hot breakfast the next day was surely welcomed! There is a bar/restaurant just a short walk from the motel. For a budget motel, it really was great and if we're ever going somewhere in the area, we would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Packerfan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This gem was half the price of anything listed for miles around it. Not only was the room surprisingly large but was extremely clean. Truly one of the top cheap places I have stayed. The breakfast that all the reviews seem to rave about was indeed good. Recommended

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank dailyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

I have stayed here before. The hotel itself is nothing special, but it is clean, and comfortable, and priced for the budget conscious traveler. What separates it from other hotels in this price range is the breakfast. The host makes the breakfasts, very tasty, unique, and filling. It is also well located making the next day an easy reach to tour both the Badlands AND the Black Hills. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gerry's Budget Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerry's Budget Host

Address: 203 W Sd Highway 248, Kennebec, SD
Region: United States > South Dakota > Kennebec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kennebec
Price Range: €45 - €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gerry's Budget Host 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean motel(cleaner than most big city motels) on the way to Mt. Rushmore and Yellowstone. Reasonable 30-90 dollars compared to Rapid City 70-300 and Chamberlain 60-130 depending on season. Full hot breakfast raved about by many. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gerry's Budget Host reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing