We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving...or sleep in your car”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H and H El Centro Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Booked 2 rooms online, don't know where they got the pictures, there are absolutely no similarities between what is shown and what the rooms are really like. Burnt out lights in both rooms, walls had holes in them, rooms were filthy, very unpleasant couple at the front desk, you got the feeling you were bothering them and all we did was check in, no hello or good bye, the only conversation was "you're ID and Credit card" , breakfast was toast and cereal, Without exaggeration the WORST experience I have ever had with accommodations.

Room Tip: Stay away, you would regret it even if they charged $50 per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juscheking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016

I made a reservation through my Employer Website that offers associates discount rates on travel. We have to pre-pay in order to get our special rates, which I did.
We arrived and got our room and while we were unloading the car, the front desk called to say my credit card was declined. I proceeded to go back up and argue with the Front Desk Clerk that the room was prepaid and that my credit card should have not been charged. He insisted that I had to pay with a different card or leave. Being tired from being on the road I reluctantly handed over another credit card.
After getting in the room we had trouble getting the TV to come on. Checking to see if it was plugged in we noticed that the outlet was overloaded with six plugs, plugged into it and the TV was barely able to be plugged in. A fire trap waiting to happen.
The room itself was clean and the bed was as comfortable as hotel beds are. We got some sleep and was back on the road the next day.
When I got home, I filed a complaint with our Employee Discount site to have this hotel removed and with my credit card to deny the charge. Not sure what will happen.
If possible find somewhere else to stay. I should have read the Trip Adviser posts, I would not have stayed here if I had.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MALaehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Not so great, advertised as having restaurant on site, not this year, said there is a bar, not. Pool yes but very small . Spa? small hot tub with no water and has not seen use in a long time. WIFI was very weak only one bar but did seem to work.
Room was a good size and clean. No comment on the breakfast yet because we have not had it yet.
Price was more than expected and not really worth it.
They should upgrade their website to show what amenities they actually have.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016

To be fair, we never stayed here. We booked a reservation through Agoda after 9pm when we realized all hotels on I-90 were booked up for miles around Rapid City, arrived around 11pm. "No vacancy." The woman we roused after banging on the door for 15 minutes said she'd never heard of any online reservation. Agoda says the first five people they talked to had never heard of our reservation, but ultimately someone in the firm insisted to Agoda that we were a no show who had gone to the wrong place, although this address is where we were and the place looked like this. Agoda issued a refund to us. (We lucked in to finding a room at the old-and-being-rehabbed motel on the other side of the Interstate that is not yet hooked into online reservations.)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pamela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Checked into room 121. Blood on floor. Nail clippers inside bedding. Moved to a room, drug stuff in... Lock didn't work. Owner came down said he'd lock from outside. He fake pretended to lock it and walked away, I showed him it didn't lock and he started screaming there was " zero percent chance" of crime unless I was going to steal a car. Children were crying. This place is filthy dirty disgusting. Doors don't lock. Shower hung into tub, tv didn't work, air didn't work. Slept with pepper spray and car alarm after horrible treatment from staff. I'd rather sleep in a gutter outside then stay here again. Beer bottles in room from last guest. Hands down worst experience ever. Worse then a third world country hostile. Keep driving. Rooms smelled damp and smokey. Tiles cracked on floor. If you have the misfortune of staying here, keep your shoes on!

Stayed: June 2016
2  Thank rgillMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kadoka hotels
1.7 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.2 km away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
68 reviews
1.3 km away
Dakota Inn Kadoka
Dakota Inn Kadoka
#3 of 3 in Kadoka
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H and H El Centro Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H and H El Centro Motel

Address: 915 Hwy 248, I-90 Exit 150, Kadoka, SD 57543 (Formerly Rodeway Inn Kadoka)
Region: United States > South Dakota > Kadoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Kadoka
Price Range: €50 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — H and H El Centro Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your H and H El Centro Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kadoka Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing