We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party”

Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground
Ranked #14 of 29 Restaurants in Hill City
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Christmas party”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

A group of us were celebrating the holidays--about 12 of us. We had a lovely evening with great food and excellent service. Would definitely recommend this restaurant to large or small groups. Everybody was pleased (which is hard to do).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Retiredtraveler2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    24
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, OH
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better, but needs something...”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We visited the Horse Creek Inn during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally, has we have for the past several years. It is a cute roadside place that looks as though it will be dark, cozy, and full of atmosphere from the outside. Stopping in on a weeknight for a glass of wine and an appetizer. we met the new owner sitting at the bar, who was proud of the improvements made since he and his family purchased the operation a year ago. They have definitely cleaned the place up a bit, removing the salad bar and freshening up the decor, albeit only minor changes. We ordered Chislic, purported to be a South Dakota specialty, deep-fried cubes of seasoned beef. The meat was so tough that we had trouble chewing it. I expected a bit better quality meat, if that is the only thing on the plate. Not sure if this is the way it's supposed to be, but the experience was not enjoyable at all.

My advice to the owners: invest in good quality ingredients, and charge more - people will pay it if it's good. I will not eat something just because it's cheap at a restaurant.

The other complaint would be - do something with the lighting in this place. Right when you walk in, there is a huge overhead light glaring right in your eyes in the foyer that lights up the entire bar area as well. There is zero ambiance. Invest in some recessed lighting that you can put on a dimmer. I do not want to sit in the bar relaxing with a glass of wine, and feel like I am being interrogated by the secret police with a bright light in my eyes.

Due to the cheap cut of meat on our appetizer and the total lack of ambience, we had one drink and left. I really wanted to like the place and stay for another glass of wine, but...oh well. Maybe next year.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CincinnatiSly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson Siding
1 review
“Consistenly high quality”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have taken family and friends to the Inn many time over the years. It has recently changed ownership and has only gotten better! The restaurant service, prices, quality and quantity of food is first rate. Friendly and attentive staff always ensure a wonderful visit. If you visit the Black Hills you need to make the Horse Creek Inn one of your stops!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olphotodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Great food, atmosphere and friendly service!! I recommend this place to families with kids also.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanna74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Best that we visited in the Black Hills”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We visited the Black Hills for four days and ate at quite a few restaurants, but this was the best, by far. We shared a prime rib special and it was more than enough for the two of us. The decor was very nice, the service was excellent and the food was exceptional. Make a point of trying their Beer Cheese soup, it was delicious.
I also tried the Black Forest chocolate cake. It was very good, but a little on the dry side.
I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldwingtriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground also viewed

 

Been to Horse Creek Inn Restaurant & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing