We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
122
144
25
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
122
144
25
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator the breakfast area gas station next door black hills outdoor deck first floor belgian waffles would stay again biscuits and gravy breakfast staff nice hotel stayed one night continental breakfast custer state park hot tub front desk clerk nice stay
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for one night while driving from Badlands to Grand Tetons. The staff was very nice and the hotel was easy to find. It wasn't incredibly close to Rushmore, but it was on the main road. We were on the side away from the road which was nice because I imagine the other side may have been noisy. We did notice that there was a facecloth from the last guest still hanging on the shower---gross. Overall, fine for one night but I wouldn't want to spend a week.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cheerpeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My husband and I have stayed here seven times now, and it continues to be our top choice place to stay while visiting the Black Hills. In Hill City, we have also stayed at the Holiday Inn Express and Super 8. I believe the Comfort Inn gives you the best value for your money. The room is always clean and cozy. The hot tub room also includes a mini-fridge and microwave. The owners are friendly and helpful. The location is unbeatable, as it is centrally located in the Hills and easy to get to Custer State Park, Sylvan Lake, Mt. Rushmore, etc.

Breakfast consists of a typical Comfort Inn spread of Belgian waffles (make your own with the cups of pre-made batter and two waffle makers provided), hard-boiled eggs, cereal, fruit, toast and English muffins with butter, jam, or peanut butter, pastries, various juices, tea, and coffee. A great start to a day of hiking or sightseeing.

The deck off of the eating area has a picturesque view of the creek, pines, hills, and Mickelson Trail located behind the hotel. If you enjoy running or biking, it is convenient to have the Mickelson Trail literally steps away from your doorstep. Also recommended is the filet mignon dinner at The Alpine Inn, just a short walk down Main Street.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viajerosivda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We read the other reviews but gave it a try anyway. Glad we did. Good breakfast, two deals out back to sit on , and in the evening you can watch the deer.
We needed a fridge and they got us one.
It is in a good location to see all the sights in the area.
Oh, and they painted it. Not blue anymore. A pretty dark tan.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2Moores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Great location within walking distance of the attractions of Hill City and driving of all the locations in the area.

The hotel was nice check inn was busy if people arrive at the same time it would be. The two problems with the hotel was: 1. There never seemed to be enough seats for breakfast with people queueing for a seat indoors and out. We woke as early as possible and went straight down to breakfast in this way we ensured we had a seat. 2. Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as our room was at the front. There is very little soundproofing. Because of the busy road next to the hotel it can be noisy.

However, the hotels was nice and the pool when not full of kids was good. The hot tub could do with a clean though as there was a lot of floating detritus in it.

I would stay againg at the rear of the hotel and get up early for breakfast.

Room Tip: Insist on a rear room
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here as our base for visiting Black Hills. Close to all the attractions eg Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park. Rooms are basic but comfortable. Carpets are old and tired. No rollaway beds but they do offer a foldable single futon instead. Lots of parking spaces around hotel. Free wifi and breakfast. Waffle batter was a little watered down though. Room rate was quite reasonable compared to other hotels in the vicinity especially those in Keystone. We had a room at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet considering that the hotel is next to the main road. No elevator so ask for rooms on the ground floor if you do not want to carry heavy luggages upstairs. Will recommend this place only because of the good rates and its location at the end of the main street in Hill City so it is within easy walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. There is also a small pizza shop and convenience store next to the hotel which we found to be very convenient for late night snacking after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews