We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great shower!”
Review of Celebrity Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celebrity Hotel
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Deadwood
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great shower!”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews and were very happy with our choice. The downstairs is the typical casino type, but with added attraction of the cars, guitars & movie memorabilia. Upstairs, the room was lovely - not huge but big enough, but we were lucky to have a bathroom - (with toilet in a seperate room inside the shower room) - with a steam shower - this shower is a really huge double shower, with a seat at each end and twin shower heads. Excellent!
Breakfast is basic but fine, and is served in the guitar bar, just pick what you want and sit at the bar to eat it!
All in all a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoholiday2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    177
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
113
394
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I chose this hotel based on reviews and the decision to stay at a "historic" hotel rather than a major chain. We did pay more than we usually do, but thought it might be worth it. We stayed in the "John Wayne Suite", room 203. It was lovely and we enjoyed our weekend stay very much. It is a great location with parking right next to the hotel, which is a luxury n Deadwood.

The casino is clean and well maintained, and looking at the memorabilia was fun. The hotel rooms are above the casino, but you would never know it, it was very quiet and felt very removed from the activity downstairs.

The decor is lovely and old fashioned, hallways are narrow, but beautiful. The room was squeaky clean and beautiful and we were surprised at having a kitchen area with separate sink and refrigerator. Plenty of room and closet space. Our bathroom wasn't the same as in the hotel photos, but was still comfortable and clean. The furniture and bed were very comfortable and well maintained, not at all worn.

The only downside, and actually kind of funny...there were two TV's, one in each room...but very old...a huge big screen in the living area (not a flat screen) that took up a good portion of the living space, and another old TV in the bedroom area (not a flat screen) that didn't quite fit in the lovely armoire. Not a complaint, really...just a statement on how technology changes so quickly...a few years ago, these would be a luxury, but now they seem like dinosaurs.

An added feauture was a beautiful rooftop deck outside facing Main Street, very clean and comfortable. And if it hadn't rained most of the weekend, I imagine we would have spent much of our time out there.

We never used the breakfast bar...and didn't even know they had one until we got there. One suggestion to the hotel...we would have liked to have a brochure or binder in the room describing what services are available at the hotel. Also, some help with getting luggage in and out of the hotel would have been appreciated.

When we travel back to Deadwood, we would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjm5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We had originally planned on staying here two nights, but due to a mix up with our reservation (we shared fault with the hotel), they only had availability for one night. The room was very nice -- we stayed in room 215. I travel a lot for work and this room looked much like many of the nicer hotels I stay in for business (like the Fairmont). In that sense, it lacks a little of the character that you are looking for when you visit Deadwood. The bathroom was very nice, with both a glass-encased shower and a bathtub. The view looks out onto the parking lot, but there is little noise.

It is in the perfect location. Why wouldn't you stay on main street? The memorabilia in the hotel is very cool also. Neither my husband nor I gamble, but we could hang out on the main floor for a while looking at the memoriabilia (and we aren't those kind of people either).

The breakfast is not that great. They have some hot pocket type items to microwave but it's very much like a gas station's breakfast selection.

Still, if I go back to Deadwood, I'd probably plan to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

have been there many times. would not stay any place but here. I usually lose money here but i I usually lose money at any casino I go too. At least I get to lose money at a hotel that I truly enjoy. The staff,management the best. The facilities are the best. The only complaint is that they don't provide chopped onions with their free hot dogs. I do however steal some next door. I am not a big gambler but I do enjoy the thrill of it. I do know that when I go to deadwood I am going to gamble. I also know that I will probably lose ( sometimes I win) but this only a part of the cost of my "getaway". Don't go to Deadwood to get rich at the slots. It won/t happen. Go to Deadwood to have fun and when you go stay at the CELEBRITY.

The "JUDGE"

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dick p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billings, Montana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2010

Got a deal on the rate due to the area slowing down. Had gotten quotes from the neighbors, didn't go as low. 79+tax. Spooky town. Nice hotel. Loved having something to look at other then gambling. They have some old movie props. It was a nice addition. The room was beautiful, and the bathroom & especially stand-up shower breath-taking marble. It is a busy place, but desk people were pleasant. Basic breakfast items. Asked for help in finding desert, and front desk really tried to help to no avail. Directed next door whose restaurant was closed for a private party.

Fun place for a history buff even with the gambling!

Bed was a bit hard. Slept a bit rough.

Overall a great experience, and I am not a gambler either.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thehippie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Deadwood hotels
1.1 km away
SpringHill Suites Deadwood
0.5 km away
Deadwood Mountain Grand Hotel, a Holiday Inn Resort
2.2 km away
The Lodge at Deadwood
The Lodge at Deadwood
#3 of 24 in Deadwood
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Cadillac Jack’s Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
The Hotel by Gold Dust
The Hotel by Gold Dust
#5 of 24 in Deadwood
486 reviews
0.2 km away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#11 of 24 in Deadwood
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celebrity Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celebrity Hotel

Property: Celebrity Hotel
Address: 629 Main St, Deadwood, SD 57732-1106
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Dakota > Deadwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Deadwood
#1 Romantic Hotel in Deadwood
#5 Family Hotel in Deadwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Celebrity Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the famous Celebrity. A beautiful hotel located on historic main street. Elaborate grand lobby with massive crystal chandeliers, carved mahogany woodwork and gilded ceilings. Our Victorian rooms have quality reproduction antique furniture,while our luxury rooms feature marble and granite bathrooms, separate glass showers and bathtubs,fireplaces, whirlpools, hot towel warmers, safes, free Wi- Fi, free continental breakfast bar, on-site parking, courteous staff and spotless accommodations. Casino and over 75 movie memorabilia displays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Celebrity Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celebrity Hotel Deadwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing