We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for two days only”

Ranked #17 of 31 things to do in Deadwood
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of South Dakota's largest ski areas featres trails for snowmobiles.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Not all the runs were open when we visited but those that were were well groomed and the restaurants are nice.

However we were able to ski the whole mountain in one day. Then it was a little boring. We had bought a 3 day lift pass and actually left at midday on the last day. We are good skiers but we choose the location as we wanted to visit Mount Rushmore and knew that it wouldn't have lots of runs, but were disappointedly they were so short. We loved the area and stayed in Deadwood but would not return to ski.

We are keen skiers and have skied some of the smaller resorts in Vermont and did not find this resort value for money for the cost of the lift pass.

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bunny hill"
in 5 reviews
"ski school"
in 4 reviews
"smaller resort"
in 2 reviews
"learned how"
in 2 reviews
"skiing"
in 22 reviews
"beginners"
in 11 reviews
"colorado"
in 8 reviews
"lodge"
in 16 reviews
"snow"
in 16 reviews
"skied"
in 6 reviews
"advanced"
in 4 reviews
"equipment"
in 3 reviews
"elevation"
in 2 reviews
"bar"
in 4 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2018

Family has traveled to Terry Peak to ski annually for the past 8 years over the holidays. We have ski and snow boarders in the group of all skill levels. Everyone enjoyed the mountain and was able to ski/board as much as they could handle. Lifts are in great shape, runs were nicely groomed and lift lines were less than half what you would see in Colorado or other larger resorts. The lodge can get very crowded during peak lunch hours so I recommend eating early or late if you need to use this service. Bunny hill and ski school are great for beginners and senior citizens ski for free! Highly recommend this budget friendly ski resort to families with younger kids as it is much safer than larger resorts to keep track of everyone and you will get in plenty of skiing or boarding (or maybe even more) than you would at a larger, pricier resort. The runs are definitely shorter, but so are the lift lines....so you will get in plenty of skiing. Depending on amount of snowfall, there can be years where not all of the runs are open, but the resort tries to open and maintain as much as they feasibly can based on the weather.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Renae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Took 2 teen boys for the day. The lines actually were not that long for a holiday. They had a great time, had their fill, got a work out. As far as I know, the staff does a good job fitting them with equipment too.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Tzeidel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018 via mobile

We finally took the kids to Terry Peak. This was their first time. Ages 10, 14, 19. I haven’t been there for 20 years and wow have things changed. The snow carpet was great for the kids. The boys went down the bunny slope about 3 Times each and had it! Then we all went on the lift for the beginner slope. It was cold at 0 but we warmed up and had lunch with hot chocolate and pulled pork sandwiches. Sounds like we are going back for the 10 year olds birthday later in the month. He loved it and changed his party location from the local water park.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank torque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We head out to Terry Peak a couple of times a year. The boys love to snowboard and my husband loves to ski. The trails are always well groomed. They do offer lessons which is how both of my boys learned how to snowboard. The food is good, but expensive, but expected to be higher. The bar is nice (if you like that) and you can sit inside or out.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terry Peak Ski Area also viewed

 

Been to Terry Peak Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing