We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
37
29
9
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
29
9
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson dutyroom was cleanlaura ingallswe've stayedindoor poolsouth dakotabreakfast areavery nice hotelin towncontinental breakfastlifeguardsgrandson
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We had a college visit with our son and drove into Brookings the night before our tour. Hotel is very clean and fresh upon arrival. Friendly front desk attendant helped check us in. Room was very comfortable. Comfy bed, plenty of lighting and work space. After our college tour, looks like we will be staying at this hotel much more often.

Room Tip: Nice hotel right off I-29.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwiechmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield I, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and plan on staying with us again in the future.

Also, we appreciate you taking the time to fill out the survey.

Go Big! Go Blue! Go Jacks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

We spent one night here while attending the Laura Ingalls Wilder pageant in DeSmet. We were pleasantly surprised by the room. When we booked the hotel, the IHG website showed photos of a rather dated hotel. Much to our surprise, the rooms had been renovated!

The one downside was the customer service at the hotel. We arrived early, but a room wasn't available. No problem there, we decided to have lunch and do some shopping and the hotel promised a phone call when our room was ready. That call never came. When we did finally check in that evening, we had to yell back into the office after standing at the desk for several minutes. The gal working really struggled with the computer, but finally figured out how to check us in.

I would return, but hopefully will have better service in the future.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comments about the hotel. We appreciate all feed back, good and bad. We will definitely check into the customer service you received. That is not normal for the hotel. We pride ourselves on great service and hotel.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel, and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at several Holiday Inn Express and are always pleased. From check in to breakfast to spa to room appearance we were again totally satisfied. I particularly appreciated the room darkening shades, the comfy beds and all the pillows. We will stay here again maybe next time it will be when our first great grandchild is born.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you so much for your great comment and especially for staying with us. With being in town for such a wonderful occasion, as the wedding of your grandson, you don't want to worry about your hotel room. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Congratulations on your grandsons wedding, and we look forward to your return stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

The rooms in this place were very clean and comfy. My group (it was an informal class reunion that we do every year) rented a conference to hang out in. The staff was very accommodating. Would have given a higher review but the hotel's location isn't very convenient to downtown due to construction.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. We're glad your stay was good and you got to spend time with classmates. We know it can be a challenge to get around in the construction of the roads. And since all the hotels are located within the construction, we all look forward to it being done.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

Pretty nice place overall as the rooms are good, the bed is awesome, and the breakfast is good. But the hotel basically has no access to the south stairwell from the parking lots. Real bummer if your room is on the very south end. Other than that, okay place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jrperkins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementBrookings, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Brookings, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you so much for the good review and for staying with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again, thank you for staying and we hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews