We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hardware Breakfast”

Cafe at Williams Hardware
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We offer folks a place to stop in off the Swamp Rabbit Trail, visit with old friends, have a bite to eat, and enjoy an old-fashioned sense of community. The sisters also invite you to browse through the gift shop that features unique food items and other products made right here in South Carolina.
Reviewed 23 July 2018

Surprise...Surprise...Surprise!Wow...breakfast vat a hardware store and it was good.Looking for another place for breakfast and stumbled upon this one. I had coffee and a bacon, egg and cheese sandwich with a side of home fries. Should have listened to the receptionist though about the grits. There wasn't much to the home fries and they were just okay. The sandwich was big and good/ The coffee was more expensive than than most other breakfast places and not any better, but it was fun. They even have a porch overlooking a garden.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce M, Owner at Cafe at Williams Hardware, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Yes, we do have a good breakfast. Thank you for taking to time to write a review. You come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2018

Have been there several times with our "birthday group". Three couples who get together on birthdays to have dinner. This is the restaurant we have chosen most often. Last visit were told that if we bring in a cake (as normally do) would have to bring own plates and utensils or there would be a charge. Manager worked it out this last time and now we know if this is the restaurant of choice for next birthday.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sllee2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce M, Owner at Cafe at Williams Hardware, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Thank you for coming to celebrate with us. We are glad you did and hope you'll come again. As a note about the cake. We provide a piece of cake to the birthday person free of charge. We do this to keep people from having to bring in a cake to celebrate. If you have noticed in the news lately there are a lot of products and foods that have been recalled due to causing illness. This is a concern when people bring in things they have made or even bought elsewhere. Most restaurants, like us discourage people from bringing food in because we are not able to control it's preparation or what's in it. Unfortunately, if someone gets sick, we would be held responsible. If you were to Google "taking a cake to a restaurant" you would see that it is something that many restaurants do not want you to do. It is a safety and insurance issue. We have used the "you must bring your plates and napkins" tactic just to discourage people from bringing a cake.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Daughters and granddaughters rode up to have lunch and visit some of the shops. Excellent food and the 2 sisters are very friendly and entertaining. Their restaurant also has a gift shop with Greenville items and other unusual gifts.

Thank joanocraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce M, Owner at Cafe at Williams Hardware, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for coming to browse in our little town. We are glad you enjoyed your meal and time here. Come see us all again real soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

We sat on the screened porch and watched the runners, cyclists, and moms with strollers go by on the Swamp Rabbit Trail. If you haven't been there, the sandwiches, salads, and soups are good (we never have room to try the huge cakes), the atmosphere is pleasant, and the shopping is fun!

Thank karenskelton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce M, Owner at Cafe at Williams Hardware, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it. You come again soon and have dessert first! lol!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The food is always fresh and inviting to eat. I love the pecan entrusted chicken salad that is toasted and my husband says the Ruben is the best ever!

Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joyce M, Owner at Cafe at Williams Hardware, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Thank you Ellen. You come to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe at Williams Hardware also viewed

 
Travelers Rest, SC
 
Travelers Rest, SC
 

Been to Cafe at Williams Hardware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing