We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,770)
Filter reviews
1,770 results
Traveller rating
1,146
408
134
53
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,146
408
134
53
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish shack beach bar fishing pier restaurants within walking distance surf diner pool and hot tub river city cafe small balcony ocean view across the street days inn great place to stay bike week clean rooms location was perfect short drive front desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
865 - 870 of 1,770 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016

The staff at the Surfside Beach Resort are very friendly and accommodating. The location is perfect, and it offers wonderful beach and ocean views. They also offer free daily passes to the Pier and a discount card for the local Piggly Wiggly. However, the pool and hot tub are overcrowded with unsupervised children. Don't expect adult time in the hot tub, unless your vision of adult time is worrying about unsupervised children hurting themselves while jumping in from the side. There is a key card entry to the pool, but everyone knows that they can reach around the gate to open it from the inside, so a room key is not actually required.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2016

Dear christine w,
Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the hotel. Your valued comments help us to continue to improve the hotel and our service. We are looking into the gate access to limit entry by underage and non-guests. Glad to hear your enjoyed the location, discount cards, comp pier passes and our friendly and accommodating staff.
Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you in the future.
Phil Vassar,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

We go there each year for the beach access and convenient local attractions (if you're not looking for disneyworld, but just a few nifty places to eat, while grabbing as much beach time as possible).... honestly, I should not have rented the car. If you just want a family beach and can afford a few cab rides (much to do within 5 miles, a reasonable cab fare - Murrell's Inlet is a great place to sneak off to) I could have done transportation for about 50 bucks in cab fares instead of 300 in car rental.

If you want beach, this fits!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear Phil D,
Thank you for staying with us year after year and reviewing the hotel. We happy our convenient location on the beach in the middle of the quiet, less crowded resort town of Surfside Beach fits your vacation needs for relaxation and beach time. With the 4 restaurants, 2 ice cream shops, 2 gift shops, the fishing pier, Scotty's Beach Bar and the ocean just steps away, you really don't need a car that much.
Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Phil Vassar,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Best Vacation Ever...Hotel was fantastic - rooms great size, clean and the view? Well you need to experience it for yourself. We parked the truck and there was no need to drive anywhere. We had the beach/pool during the day. Great breakfast place right next door. Scotty's beach bar on the other side and across the street we at Pam and Neal's and Bubbas. We had dinner at Bubbas every night and with the menu options you did not have to eat the same thing twice - although the boiled shrimp and fried pickles were to die for.
Definitely going back as soon as we can. I think we have found our new vacation destination.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th (and top) floor. The higher the level the better the view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedavis2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear dedavis,
We are proud to be your "new vacation destination" and thank you for allowing us to be, in small way, a part of your "Best Vacation Ever". We' re glad you enjoyed the nicely sized, clean room, convenient location, and all the money you saved on gas because you didn't have to move the truck.
Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your returning soon.
Regards,
Phil Vassar,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Will definitely return, I met a lady in the lobby that said its the ONLY place she stays when there. I can see why she feels that way. See ya soon surfside beach!! We went out on the pier fishing, fun

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beverlyw391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil V, General Manager at Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2016

Dear beverlyw,
We definitely look forward to your return and will have your fishing pier passes ready for you. Thanks for staying with us and reviewing the hotel.
Regards,
Phil Vassar,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Fantastic location, very friendly staff, updated rooms, and great restaurants within walking distance. Surfside is a more calm atmosphere than Myrtle Beach, but just a short drive when you want to get into the middle of it. Can't be beat!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 305ashleyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews