We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Reviewed 6 August 2017

Check-in - normal hotel type check-in but at a completely different location. Parking to go in to check-in was slim to none and they were very busy. Instructions to get to the plantation were minimal.
Just spent the weekend in one of the "one bedroom" units. A room with 2 double beds, night table, dresser, bathroom, closet and 3 appliances. I would not call it a one bedroom. The place is nice from the outside but the inside is a much different look. Certainly not what I expected by looking at the pics of this plantation online. The rooms are VERY dated and dirty! The appliances - coffee maker/small fridge and microwave - OLD and nasty. They do not provide coffee/tea in the room. No cups to drink coffee/tea from if you want to make any to drink. The coffee pot still had grounds in it from it's last use. The top to the pot was broken and you had to hold it in place to make sure it brewed without overflowing. Learned that the hard way. The bathroom - yuck! The shower curtain was nasty. The floor along the wall had dirt build. There was a toothbrush in there that did not belong to us. The carpet was old and we had a old tube TV. I slept OK but wondered the whole time if the dang sheets were really clean ones. The wifi password did not work either. The plantation itself from the outside - is beautiful and grand looking. One would think with all the money they make the could afford to do the much needed upgrades.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

We are staying in 179 3A - Unit is very dirty, dust has not been cleaned seems like in a very long time (it is sticky), windows are terribly dirty. Unit was sold to us as "scenic view" however blinds do not open so there is no view. We were told there is nothing they can do about that as the owners have to buy new blinds. Toaster does not work. There is no ironing board. Furniture is dirty. Shower head is probably dirty so showers feel like a very bad acupuncture treatment - it is painful! Vacuum was in the room until yesterday - it is now gone.
We called 4 times about the above issues and nothing has been done so far - we are at day 4 now and seriously thinking of leaving this place if we can get our money back. Horrible experience and we loved each of our previous trips to Pawleys Island....so so disappointing and not worth the money we paid. Not sure if this is the case with other units in the complex but this one .... stay away.

Room Tip: Read reviews and ask a LOT of questions before booking here
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30,072,013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Plantation Golf & Country Club is one of those courses you can play over and over again and never have the same shot twice; that’s what makes it such an enjoyable course. Jack would have it no other way.

Pawley’s Plantation is a championship, par 72 course that measures 7,031 yards from the back tees, yet the most memorable hole on the course is a mere 115 yards long. More on that later. From the back tees, the course carries a course rating of 75.7 and slope of 148. Most golfers will find that the White/Egret Tees (6,184/72.0/139) will give them as much golf course as they can handle. Five sets of tee boxes give golfers of all levels of ability the chance to enjoy this Lowcountry classic.

The course is not without its share of notoriety; Golf World named it one the state’s top 30 courses in 2009 and 2010. Golf Digest has awarded the course 4 stars as one of its “Places to Play” and Zagat has called Pawleys Plantation one of “America’s Top Courses”.

The front nine winds its way through pine and hardwood forests and features several tree-lined fairways; others use beautiful lakes to frame the border. Massive sand bunkers are prevalent on several holes. The back nine is a different story as several holes extend out into the saltwater marsh and offer fantastic views of the surrounding area. Rest assured that because of your location, the prevailing winds will be a factor. Two hundred-year-old moss-draped oak trees come into play on several holes, most notably on number 14, where “Jack’s Tree” sits in the middle of the fairway near his old house.

For the most part, landing areas are generous; and the green complexes are nothing less than you would expect from a Jack Nicklaus design. The TifEagle hybrid Bermuda grass greens are large with subtle undulations and run-offs typically associated with Nicklaus courses. They putt fast and true.

It’s not often that the par 3 holes add the most excitement to a round, but at Pawleys Plantation that is certainly the case; all showcase water, sand or both. Ask anyone – including those that have taken a double or better – what hole they remember most and they will undoubtedly say number 13. This hole plays 115 yards from the White Tees and is every bit as much of a test as #17 at Sawgrass. Locals have dubbed it “The Shortest Par 5 on the Grand Strand”. To get to the tee, you drive from the 12th green across a causeway, past the 17th tee box, and stop about ¾ of the way across. The tees for 13 and 17 are built into the causeway; 17 is a par 3 that plays 150 yards, over a saltwater marsh to a green that is a lot wider than it is deep. It too is a tough hole.

Anyway, back to 13. The tee box is elevated above the marsh and if you are afraid of heights (like me), it can be quite the extra challenge. The hole is bulk-headed to the marsh and there is zero room for error. Your tee shot is complicated by the prevailing wind and very rarely plays the stated yardage. The 13th green and the 16th green are one and the bunkers around the 13th green catch any errant shots that the water does not. This hole truly lives up to its billing. There’s a 5 on my scorecard and that’s being generous! If you look down into the saltwater marshes at low tide, you can see where others have tried – and failed – too.

The second hole is rated the #1 handicap hole and is very demanding; even more so because it is only the second hole. At 408 yards from the White Tees, it takes two good shots to get on in regulation. There’s water to the far left and sand to the immediate left of the large undulating green. Par is a very good score here.

Mr. Nicklaus thinks Number 10 is one of the nicest holes on the course and I tend to agree. If you play a hybrid or long iron off the tee and leave it short of the large fairway bunker on the right side, you’ll have an approach shot of less than 130 yards. Should you decide to play left of the bunker, you can get your approach distance down to about 80 yards. Either way, you’ll have an approach shot over water to a long, narrow green bulk-headed in front and well bunkered on either side. This is a great thinking man’s hole!

As you can tell from the slope rating, Pawleys Plantation is not an easy course. Jack Nicklaus’ philosophy has always been that golf is “a game of precision as well as power” and nowhere is that more evident than here. From the tree-lined fairways on the front to the marsh-laden back nine, Pawleys Plantation keeps you guessing. You’ll need to hit it long and straight on some holes and finesse it onto the putting surface on others. Thankfully, Pawleys Plantation provides each golfer with a yardage book.

A good course is not complete without a good 19th hole and the Palmetto Pub raises the bar when it comes to your typical clubhouse fare. In addition to your favorite clubhouse food and libations, they have an outstanding food menu with some nice surprises. The night we were there, the special was a 12oz NY Strip steak, cooked the way you like it, served with salad, potato and vegetable. Their She Crab Soup and homemade chili also hit the spot.

Because of its location, Pawleys Plantation is a popular spot for weddings, with a scenic and private location overlooking the 18th green. Pawleys’ professional event planning staff and executed chef Leon Nesbit can help put together an event that you will remember for a lifetime.

To book your next golf vacation at Pawleys Plantation, Click Here. If you fill out a package quote form on the Waccamaw Golf Trail website – with no obligation to buy – they will send you a voucher for a free round on one of their courses.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank djtheoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Booked online and when we got to Pawleys Plantation we were told we had to check in at Litchfield Golf and Country Club. This was not mentioned at all anywhere. After going to Litchfield Beach and waiting about 30 minutes to be given keys, we arrived at the tiny, nasty room in a building in a residential section. There were no cups for drinks, a coffee maker but no cups for that either. I can't believe Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club would even rent anything this bad or have their name associated with such a shoddy operation. We have been visiting Pawleys Island every year for 30 years and have never had such a bad experience. We had rented a condo at Pawleys Pier for the week were not able to check in until Saturday and we arrived on Friday. We'll never do that again unless we can get a nice room at the Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Don't even think about booking a room at Pawleys Plantation. Total disappointmentt.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

This is ok if your golfing but its too far from the beach for me to stay here on a beach vacation. The neighborhood is nice though. 24 hr gated community and very secluded. It felt like a neighborhood not the beach. The pool was great. Huge and clean. I appreciate that there is a key that you have to have to get in. Its Very quiet. We had problems with bugs in our condo. "Palmentto bugs" that the owner says are not cockroaches but i looked this up and it says palmentto bug is a nickname for American cockroaches. The owners say its a sc problem. (Implying that its not preventable) Now I only went in this 1 condo so I can only speak for that particular one but the whole grounds had major issues with misquotes. If they don't already they should do a community mosquito spray. To try and cut down misquotes. We were being attacked as soon as we walked out of the door or got out of the car and at the pool. I don't play golf but my husband said it was an ok golf course and he would play it.
All in all I think its a very quiet secluded development away from all the hustle and bustle suited for playing golf.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank hairbyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pawleys Island
8.2 km away
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
Litchfield Beach & Golf Resort
#2 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,891 reviews
6.7 km away
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
Oceanfront Litchfield Inn
#1 of 6 in Pawleys Island
1,887 reviews
8.2 km away
Hampton Inn Pawleys Island - Litchfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Best Western Pawleys Island
Best Western Pawleys Island
#4 of 6 in Pawleys Island
201 reviews
25.8 km away
Surfside Beach Oceanfront Hotel
18.7 km away
Hampton Inn Murrells Inlet/Myrtle Beach Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club

Address: 70 Tanglewood Dr, Pawleys Island, SC 29585-7457
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Pawleys Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Pawleys Island
Price Range: €95 - €135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pawleys Plantation features one, two, and three bedroom villas, situated along our award-winning Jack Nicklaus-designed golf course. Other amenities include three dining areas; an outdoor pool and lighted tennis courts; driving range and practice putting green; and a fitness center. Our conference center, rated one of the "Best of the South" (Meetings South magazine), can accommodate up to 300 people. Perfect for destination weddings, Pawleys Plantation "sets a high standard for Lowcountry romance." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pawleys Plantation Golf and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pawleys Plantation Golf And Country Club Hotel Pawleys Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing