We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's not a good way to review this Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Grand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Since most are only going to read the first few lines, I'll give overall opinion first followed by details.

We used this hotel because of the park and cruise feature. We would probably use again but we know what to expect. This can't be beaten for the price, the shuttle and allowing to leave your car while you cruise. BUT - don't expect much more as there are problems that WILL happen and the potential not run later than desired to the port. THE STAFF WAS ALL GREAT!

The staff was GREAT and FRIENDLY - but they have to be because the experience is terrible. The STAFF wants to make things right and will do everything they can to make sure you're happy. Just don't expect a perfect stay.

Your keys will lose its ability to unlock your door. They tell you this at check-in "do not put your door key next to ANYTHING" We kept ours away from everything and it still deactivated. This happened twice and we left our room 4 times.

Check-in took about 45 minutes as there was a line out the door... people needing keys activated again and poor logistics of booking rooms. THIS IS NOT THE STAFF'S FAULT --- Except for lacking the knowledge of which rooms are actually cleaned and ready. At 5pm there was still question about which rooms were clean.

The elevators are so slow, we took the stairs every time. Horribly slow and takes forever to close once in them.

Breakfast choices were mediocre at best. Ants were everywhere the first time we went and I didn't check it the last time. (yes, I've stayed 2x)

The rooms were nice and roomy. I have nothing bad to say about them. The bed and shower were nice too. We had a good night's sleep.

The location seems a bit sketchy but the 2x we stayed here we didn't have problems.

We had signed up for the shuttle and had a specific time slot. We kept getting bumped because people were outside waiting and jumping the line. The driver said it was the Front Desk who was supposed to keep up with it but the Front Desk claimed there was a new policy that the driver wasn't enforcing. Anthony was GREAT and made sure we got to the port at the RIGHT TIME! He called a driver friend of his and paid him and we were on our way (30 minutes late but still made it to port by 11 as we had priority boarding) THANK YOU ANTHONY!

For what it would cost to park at the port or a hotel closer and a nicer hotel, you're going to spend a significant amount more. I would probably stay here again based on the customer service and price. We might try somewhere else next time but if it's so much more money, then we won't.

If I could rate the STAFF - 5 stars
Room - 4.5
Price - 4.5
Food - 1
Shuttle Service - 1
Experience - 2

This gets a 3 stars because the Staff made it that much better. Without the staff - there is NO WAY we would stay here again.

Room Tip: choose farthest away from elevators so you can use the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Reed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Had a 3 night business trip in Charleston, Mt. Pleasant and Summerville. Hotel is very, comfortable and quiet even with Highway and Railroad next to it. Not the best Hotel, but very adequate for my Needs. Many Cruise Ship people stay here prior to departure. Hotel offers shuttle service to the Port for Cruises. Love the NO CARPET in the rooms, Poor fitness equipment, Great pool and Laundry Facilities are available. Free Parking too.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rod0530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Front desk receptionist and manager are 5 star. Nicest people in the world. Hotel is a disaster. Smoking marijuana on entire floor. The room was gross. Made me itchy walking in, dirty shower. I stayed at a worse hotel once...in Guatemala.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank whitkid22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

This hotel is a dump in my opinion. The lamp in our room was torn and there was a huge gap/hole in the wall where the ac unit was installed. The "lady" behind the desk was rude an disrespectful to a customer that did not want his driver license photocopied. The location is a bit seedy to say the least. I would take time and find a decent hotel and avoid staying at this horrible motel.

Room Tip: there is a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrbroussard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017

I should have cancelled when I walked in and smelled mildew...it was downhill from there. The hotel is banged up, dents and dings on the walls and funky smells throughout. It appears that some renovations have taken place, but there's a long way to go.
The counter staff were friendly, that's my 1 star.

Room Tip: Bring disinfectant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkBeachmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#26 of 59 in North Charleston
132 reviews
3.4 km away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#47 of 59 in North Charleston
126 reviews
10.6 km away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#27 of 59 in North Charleston
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
#38 of 59 in North Charleston
220 reviews
10.9 km away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#41 of 59 in North Charleston
244 reviews
10.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#39 of 59 in North Charleston
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Grand Hotel

Address: 3640 Dorchester Rd, North Charleston, SC 29405-7569 (Formerly The Historic Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range: €53 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleston Grand Hotel (formerly Clarion) under new management and ownership is centrally located in the heart of North Charleston, SC. Just minutes away from Downtown Charleston and The North Charleston Coliseum, makes our hotel a very convenient choice. We offer you a variety of room choices and amenities. We take pride in great customer service to go along with an enjoyably comfortable stay. It is our goal to make sure that you leave happy. So if there is anything that we can do, please let us know. Thank you for making Charleston Grand Hotel your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charleston Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel North Charleston
Clarion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing