We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and personnel but renovation needed ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charleston Grand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed only one night. Large room with extra chairs, couch and table. Clean, nice staff (Britney was very kind) and a -very- essential breakfast. Free wifi, cheap shuttle to the airport and downtown. Hotel is not a young boy anymore and clearly screams for renovation works.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Fabio_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

We thank you for your kind words especially Britani who is new to the staff. We are in the process of setting renovation goals for the end of the year we try to make the inside experience a memorable one

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Everything was nasty and dirty... Sheets were looking like they were never changed before... Swimming pool is nothing like the pictures showed.... Customer service was ok.... Parking lot wasn't clean.... Hotel from the front looked old

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Милая В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

On behalf our the entire staff we sincerely apologize your stay wasn't pleasant. I assure you we change the sheets on a daily basis and the pool is the same one in the photos. I have addressed the cleanliness of the parking lot with the lot attendant to ensure that it is done first thing every morning. We appreciate your comments and will use this feedback to improve where we failed you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

The front desk staff were very helpful when I realized that booking.com had not booked us 2 rooms but charged us for them.The staff knew exactly how to handle the situation. Next time i will be checking the reservations before the vacation. The room was okay, smelled somewhat musky and damp. We left our vehicle near the at a front parking space near the office and were shuttled to the port. If you are going to go this route there was a $10 per person "fee". That was fine considering it is about $80 to park at the port.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank glassangeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, General Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

I am pleased that the staff was able to correct your booking situation. I have passed on your comments to housekeeping for correction and we hope you come cruise in Charleston again and let us make it an even better experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I checked in even after thinking that the area was sketchy. We got to the room found the drops of blood on the toilet, pubic hair on the bathroom floor, and used soap still left in the shower. The non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke and the air conditioner did not work. The hotel offered for us to stay in another room but I'm sure the substandard cleaning wasn't isolated to that one room. There was no way we were going to stay there. We gave up the one night reservation and booked another last minute hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

On behalf of the entire staff we sincerely apologize that your stay was less than perfect. I have had a meeting with the housekeeping staff to ensure that this never happens again to any of our guest in the future the staff usually works diligently to ensure each guest has a clean room this unfourtunately was an isolated incident

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The entire hotel smelled of smoke, although we were on a non smoking floor. We had to keep the balcony door open most times, go out and purchase air freshner and wipes to clean the bathroom. Housekeeping did not have enough clean towels, both days of our stay not enough wash clothes were available. The breakfast was awful, the ONLY breakfast items were waffles, apples and oranges. One of the reason I picked the hotel was to save money and not have to buy breakfast. All the condiments were old and should have been thrown out.The pool was satisfactory but the pool furniture was dirty and had not been cleaned in a long time. Although, the hotel is not in the best community, next to Greyhound bus station, we felt fairly safe. My friends and I stayed here a couple years ago and it was fairly okay. But it has gone way down in quality and I would NOT recommend anyone booking this hotel. I would have cancelled our reservation but extra cancellation fees were expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SkegeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Public Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

On behalf of the entire staff we are sincerely sadden that we failed you during your stay. I have reported your issues and complaints to the appropriate departments and will follow up on correcting these issues. Unfortunately some people smoke and the craziest thing don't want smoking rooms and will smoke in our undesignated areas. Our extreme apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.8 km away
Econo Lodge Coliseum
Econo Lodge Coliseum
#26 of 59 in North Charleston
132 reviews
3.4 km away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#46 of 59 in North Charleston
126 reviews
10.6 km away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#27 of 59 in North Charleston
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
Red Roof Inn North Charleston
#37 of 59 in North Charleston
220 reviews
10.9 km away
Econo Lodge North
Econo Lodge North
#40 of 59 in North Charleston
244 reviews
10.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Charleston North
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson,...
#38 of 59 in North Charleston
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Grand Hotel

Address: 3640 Dorchester Rd, North Charleston, SC 29405-7569 (Formerly The Historic Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range: €54 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleston Grand Hotel (formerly Clarion) under new management and ownership is centrally located in the heart of North Charleston, SC. Just minutes away from Downtown Charleston and The North Charleston Coliseum, makes our hotel a very convenient choice. We offer you a variety of room choices and amenities. We take pride in great customer service to go along with an enjoyably comfortable stay. It is our goal to make sure that you leave happy. So if there is anything that we can do, please let us know. Thank you for making Charleston Grand Hotel your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Charleston Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel North Charleston
Clarion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing