We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$138
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Express Charleston North(North Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$198
US$169
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$137
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (217)
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveller rating
32
26
43
35
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
26
43
35
81
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 217 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Everything was nasty and dirty... Sheets were looking like they were never changed before... Swimming pool is nothing like the pictures showed.... Customer service was ok.... Parking lot wasn't clean.... Hotel from the front looked old

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Милая В
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

On behalf our the entire staff we sincerely apologize your stay wasn't pleasant. I assure you we change the sheets on a daily basis and the pool is the same one in the photos. I have addressed the cleanliness of the parking lot with the lot attendant to ensure that it is done first thing every morning. We appreciate your comments and will use this feedback to improve where we failed you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

The front desk staff were very helpful when I realized that booking.com had not booked us 2 rooms but charged us for them.The staff knew exactly how to handle the situation. Next time i will be checking the reservations before the vacation. The room was okay, smelled somewhat musky and damp. We left our vehicle near the at a front parking space near the office and were shuttled to the port. If you are going to go this route there was a $10 per person "fee". That was fine considering it is about $80 to park at the port.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, General Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

I am pleased that the staff was able to correct your booking situation. I have passed on your comments to housekeeping for correction and we hope you come cruise in Charleston again and let us make it an even better experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

My family and I checked in even after thinking that the area was sketchy. We got to the room found the drops of blood on the toilet, pubic hair on the bathroom floor, and used soap still left in the shower. The non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke and the air conditioner did not work. The hotel offered for us to stay in another room but I'm sure the substandard cleaning wasn't isolated to that one room. There was no way we were going to stay there. We gave up the one night reservation and booked another last minute hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2016

On behalf of the entire staff we sincerely apologize that your stay was less than perfect. I have had a meeting with the housekeeping staff to ensure that this never happens again to any of our guest in the future the staff usually works diligently to ensure each guest has a clean room this unfourtunately was an isolated incident

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The entire hotel smelled of smoke, although we were on a non smoking floor. We had to keep the balcony door open most times, go out and purchase air freshner and wipes to clean the bathroom. Housekeeping did not have enough clean towels, both days of our stay not enough wash clothes were available. The breakfast was awful, the ONLY breakfast items were waffles, apples and oranges. One of the reason I picked the hotel was to save money and not have to buy breakfast. All the condiments were old and should have been thrown out.The pool was satisfactory but the pool furniture was dirty and had not been cleaned in a long time. Although, the hotel is not in the best community, next to Greyhound bus station, we felt fairly safe. My friends and I stayed here a couple years ago and it was fairly okay. But it has gone way down in quality and I would NOT recommend anyone booking this hotel. I would have cancelled our reservation but extra cancellation fees were expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SkegeeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Public Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

On behalf of the entire staff we are sincerely sadden that we failed you during your stay. I have reported your issues and complaints to the appropriate departments and will follow up on correcting these issues. Unfortunately some people smoke and the craziest thing don't want smoking rooms and will smoke in our undesignated areas. Our extreme apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for a night. Pictures from the website are deceiving. Didn't feel safe to park at this place. I asked for a non smoking room, first step into the door the room reeked of smoke. The sheets and pillows had stains and make up on them. The bathroom had hair and stains everywhere. I couldn't sleep that night and felt disgusting taking a shower in this place. Do yourself a favor and don't book this "hotel".

Stayed: July 2016
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Guest Relations Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

We are sadden that your stay was unsatisfactory we do strive to make our guest comfortable during their stay here. Unfortunately we can not move the hotel but we have been petitioning for the Mayor and congressman and Charleston officials to spend some money into the area to beautify it. I have forwarded this to the housekeeping department to correct this situation. We value your feed back good or bad so that we may improve where we are failing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews