We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible room, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #75 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Beachfront location is great and the pool and hot tub were nice. The interior of the hotel is a dump. The rooms need serious cleaning and upgrades: ceiling had a large spot of what looked like black mold, the furniture was old and beat up, with stains and scrapes and the table leg was falling off, when we pulled down the wall bed, it looked like it hadn't been cleaned behind there in months....a big pile of dust bunnies. Service was poor. One day we didn't get the room serviced at all and it took 3 calls to the front desk to get fresh towels. We also had to call to get toilet paper. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank m0nt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

I'm terribly sorry to hear that you experienced so many problems during your stay with us. I have forwarded your feedback to our management team so we can work on improving our resort and service. Again, I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2017

I should have looked further at reviews - There are some problems with this hotel 1.)Maid service - dint know you had to request it 2.) I had to ask for towels 3.) elevators are slow 4.)They should do the painting of pool areas during an off season *Good things* 1.)Nice pool and Hot tubs 2.) great Access to beach 3.) I found the staff to be friendly but overworked.4.) beds very comfortable - In conclusion I think this hotel has potential but needs to be more vigilant for the vacationing guests

Stayed: August 2017
3  Thank Ruger512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Ocean Park Resort. We are glad you enjoyed our pool, hot tubs, beach access, and friendly staff. It's unfortunate that the only time we were able to schedule our upgrades was in season. We do our best to get these projects scheduled during the off season but that is not always possible. We are terribly sorry this posed an inconvenience to you, our guest. Again, we thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

We've stayed here for the past four years through Elliott Rentals because the resort is pet friendly. We appreciate just how pet friendly they are. Never a complaint about the care the staff shows our pups. The pool is well maintained as are the hot tubs. Great ocean front amenities! I do wish we could get the same perks (discount card and water park access) as the other Ocean Park guests. The management of the resort and Elliott Rentals should work that out.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank BillyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you for your recent stay at Ocean Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. This page is managed by the Oceana Resorts team. Our guests receive a variety of free perks including discounts, free water park admission, free DVD Now rentals, free mini golf, and many more. Units at this resort are managed by a few different agencies. The perks we offer are exclusive to those who book directly with us. You may want to inquire with the agency through which you booked to see if they offer similar perks. Again, I thank you for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Our first night...I awake my husband at 1am because there is a waterbug in the bathroom. He kills it, half hour later I open my eyes to see a huge flying water right over our bed!!!! it took my husband quite a while to kill it!!! We called down to front desk to complain and we were told that it was the "STATE BUG AND THEY WERE EVERYWHERE" wtf!...it's a waterbug!!!....after changing our rooms twice we finally got a room on the 10th floor which was much cleaner and no signs of bugs for the remainder of our stay...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jacqueline f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

We are terribly sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent stay. We have a new pest control company in place and are working hard to eradicate the presence of pests. Your feedback has been shared with our team and we will be making changes to how guests complaints are managed. Again, we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The place is under renovation, Check back in a couple of years since they have a lot of work to do. Starting at the beginning the check in desk is unfriendly or helpful. You realize later that the front desk has someone there all day complaining so you can understand why the attitude. Entering the room and a foul odor greets you. The AC runs constantly but does not pull out any of the humidity so everything you touch seems wet. The bathroom light over the sink does not work so you are required to use the heat lamp just to use the bathroom. Calls to have things fixed but no one ever showed up to do anything. It is on a nice part of the beach but they should just tear it down and start over.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

I'm terribly sorry to hear that you experienced so many problems during your stay. We are going to be doing some additional training with our teams so they are better equipped to pleasantly and polite manage guests concerns. Please know that your feedback is very valuable to us and we will work hard to make the suggested improvements. Again, I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.6 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
5.3 km away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,372 reviews
2.1 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Reef
The Reef
#169 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
524 reviews
4.5 km away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
1.6 km away
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Address: 1905 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €46 - €189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept dogs, as long as they are less than 20lbs. Please call for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing