We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
Ranked #73 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The place is under renovation, Check back in a couple of years since they have a lot of work to do. Starting at the beginning the check in desk is unfriendly or helpful. You realize later that the front desk has someone there all day complaining so you can understand why the attitude. Entering the room and a foul odor greets you. The AC runs constantly but does not pull out any of the humidity so everything you touch seems wet. The bathroom light over the sink does not work so you are required to use the heat lamp just to use the bathroom. Calls to have things fixed but no one ever showed up to do anything. It is on a nice part of the beach but they should just tear it down and start over.

Room Tip: Get a room at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

I'm terribly sorry to hear that you experienced so many problems during your stay. We are going to be doing some additional training with our teams so they are better equipped to pleasantly and polite manage guests concerns. Please know that your feedback is very valuable to us and we will work hard to make the suggested improvements. Again, I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I made an account so I was able to leave a review about this resort - wanting others to know the pros and cons of staying at this location. I want to start off by saying I am not one to complain or to take their complaints online, however, I feel that before someone books their stay with this resort that they need to know a few things.

The pros of this resort:
• First, I have read some complaints about the elevator, which was not an issue for our family. I felt as though the two elevators moved rather quickly up and down the twelve floors and so we did not notice that the elevators were hot.
• Second, I thought the room that we had was beautiful and so was our view. The sheets and comforter were clean and so was everything else inside of the room.
• Third, the housekeeping was very friendly.
• Fourth, our A/C worked great.
• Fifth, no issues when signing in and was given the room we expected to be in and what we paid for.

The cons of this resort:
• First, the roach infestation. I am a person who cannot stand the sight of a cockroach and that is what ultimately led me to coming online to let others know of this issue. At this resort, you will find that roaches appear in the bathroom and in the kitchen. (At night) To try and make things a little better, I went to the store and bought roach spray. A few hours later, I spotted a baby roach. Personally, experiencing such a roach infestation ruined the stay for me.
• Second, the outdoor patio had carpet with unidentifiable markings. The air conditioning unit would leak large amounts of water and so the entire patio/porch carpet would be drenched. Would not walk out barefoot. I've attached photos.
• Third, poor wifi.

This resort would have been wonderful if it weren't for the roach issue. I can look past a moldy outdoor patio rug and poor wifi, but not roaches. I have never seen roaches in any other place that I have stayed at until now. :-( It is unfortunate that we will not be able to return due to this issue.

Also, I would never lie or over-dramatize a roach issue. I would have attached photos of the roaches if it weren't for the fact that A. They are SO fast. B. They didn't freak me out so much. To some, roaches aren't a huge deal and that is fine - Not for me.

Thanks for reading my comment!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank palee335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

I'm terribly sorry to read about the multiple issues you experienced during your stay at Ocean Park. Your concerns have been forwarded to our management team. We have recently contracted with a new pest control provider and are anticipating they will be correcting the issues we have experienced with regard to pests. Again, I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

While it may be easy on wallet it is not a place I will be booking again. The room depicted on the website is not the room I had. I went through the resort too. I was assured the rooms were what was pictured. Not. The balcony was awful. The CA unit's cover was laying in the corner. The chairs and table may have cost them $15 tops. Cheap plastic. Balcony was dirty. Kitchen had about six inches.of counter space to to utilize. The sink was tiny. Bathrooms need a makeover. Old surround units. The elevators were awful. HOT, slow and smelled like the skunk weed half the guests were smoking on the balconies. I would look elsewhere if you desire modern, updated rooms that don't smell musty.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
2  Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

I'm terribly sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay. Our units are individually owned and will vary in terms of furnishings and decor. We try to communicate this on our website. It's tough to be located oceanfront and not encounter moisture issues. We try to utilize cleaning products and techniques to combat the musty smell. I'm sorry to hear you did not find that to be the case during your stay. Many of our units are slated for improvements and there are several projects scheduled to improve the overall appearance of our resort. I hope you will return to see these positive changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I stayed for a long weekend. Let's just start with our arrival. We were approached UNLOADING our car by a hobo asking for money! ( not the hotels fault, but still not how you want to be greeted.) The front desk had the most unfriendly and unprofessional people ever and they had no place being the first impression of any hotel. They actually had a custodian sitting in for someone at one point and he was so blazé about the needs of customers. On to the room... when I say tiny I mean tin can. Had we known how small this room was for the astronomical price we paid we would have flat out laughed in their faces. We have stayed in a 2 bedroom condo during peak seasons for less money. (It was a last minute booking, that's the only reason we rolled with the price.) On top of being so small that 2 people couldn't stand in the kitchen together, it was DIRTY. Sand was everywhere! The sheets were itchy and the beds made a god awful noise. I found bugs in the corners, the balcony looked disgusting, there was a film on the chairs. The front door didn't have a latch. The balcony door lock was broken. We have a 3 year old Houdini and I was terrified he would escape and I had no way of locking him in. The pool deck had standing water and construction going on everywhere which I did not see change durning our 4 day stay. The pool attendant watched everyone like a hawk and was on a power trip about checking out their pool towels. They actually made you sign them out... a flipping towel. They had cameras everywhere, yet I went out to walk my dog one morning and I saw another homeless person sleeping on the pool deck. The only positive thing I have to say is they are dog friendly. I have been visiting myrtle beach all my life and this was probably one of the worst places we have ever stayed.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank mollybmckeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Hotel needs upgrading. Had to ask for shower curtain. Girl at desk had attitude when I asked how long it would be as we were trying to get ready for dinner. Holes in wall of room, stains on carpet, pet odor in hallways. Would not stay here again bc the price does not reflect the hotel quality. WiFi was not good. Kept going on and off and very slower
The good, girl who checked us in was great and location was good.
Maybe once renovations are complete it will be better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank JenniferO1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.6 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
5.3 km away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,371 reviews
0.4 km away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,472 reviews
2.1 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
4.5 km away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts

Address: 1905 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €45 - €176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our oceanfront Myrtle Beach resort features standard rooms and suites able to accommodate the needs of any guest. Featuring furnished private balconies, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living areas and guest laundry services, our accommodations feel like your second home. A great bonus is being able to bring your pet on vacation with you. We accept dogs, as long as they are less than 20lbs. Please call for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Hotel Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Hotel
Ocean Park Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Park Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing