We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$299
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
US$253
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)
US$349
US$332
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$313
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$326
US$313
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Creek Resort(Myrtle Beach)
US$262
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$374
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$192
US$184
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,752)
Filter reviews
1,752 results
Traveller rating
613
402
289
213
235
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
613
402
289
213
235
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamusement parkocean viewlazy riveroceanfront resortfull kitchenfamily kingdomnorth toweroff seasonspring breakocean blvdwasher and dryerwater parkconciergepoolsjacuzzicondopets
Filter
Updating list...
1,277 - 1,282 of 1,752 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We learned of the Westgate via the Chamber of Commerce because we were travelling with our dogs - for the first time. I read some of the reviews and was a little worried about what to expect . We have spent many vacations in SC mostly in Hilton Head so we are very familar with "Palemetto Bugs" (a fancy name huge roaches). The only ones I saw were outside -where they belong. One was doing the dead bug pose on our little balcony - so i'm sure they were there but i didn't see them and I certainly wouldn't say the place is infested.

As far as the accomodations - we stayed in the hotel part - yes it was dated - but it was very comfortable. Loved the little balcony overlooking the ocean and the pools. Very easy access to beach for walks and frolicing and grassy areas across the street for potty runs with the dogs.

It is across the street from the Family Kingdom amusement park - the park was closed since it was after labor day - i have no idea what it would be like when this is open. I would bet its great for families interested in having an amusement park so close - but at this stage in our life -not sure I'd want to be here at the height of the season.

Perfect for off season.

Room Tip: Definately ask for Ocean Front. If you are NOT traveling with pets - ask for a non-pet floor.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanellaSusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

We have been working very hard to ensure all guests of Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, have a great experience. Your comments on the hotel are very much appreciated and will be shared with the entire staff.

We are pleased that we provided a comfortable and clean room for your stay and want you to know that we are also updating our hotel units this winter. The model unit we just completed is absolutely beautiful. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we are thankful that you have taken the time to share.

We look forward to exceeding your expectations you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

With "Resort" in the name I expected a bit more. The hotel is old but it appears the staff tries to do their best at keeping it up. The pools look nice and clean. There was a fridge in our room but no microwave. Did not realize the check out was 10:00 a.m. so many of us were late checking out but there was no problem. WiFi COSTS (really????) to have in the room so figure on more charges if you need your computer. The "tower" has the timeshares and you can take a tour if you'd like. We stayed there because of a deal we got on DealChicken.com but wouldn't go out of my way to stay there again.

Room Tip: Lots of empty room but they gave us Amusement Park side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famw2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We have a large variety of rooms ranging from amusement park view rooms with balconies, that are not private, to four bedroom oceanfront condos with private balconies. On your next visit, please try one of our ocean view rooms in Tower 2000 with a private balcony. These units also feature granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, washer dryer, Jacuzzi tubs, walk in showers, and much more. We do have a great location right in the heart of Myrtle Beach across from Family Kingdom amusement park and just blocks from the Myrtle Beach boardwalk. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My wife and I stayed in the older building at the Westgate Resort. The armoire in our room had the doors broken off of it, the balcony had cracked concrete and the beds were worn. Our room was clean and had a nice view of the beach. The common areas are well kept and clean. At check-in the hotel makes you validate your parking with someone who asks you to join in a time-share presentation which is annoying. During the week we parked in the front parking lot, however, during the weekend we were forced to walk from across the street because we are timeshare owners, which was okay because it was a short walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisw03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly take your concerns seriously and apologize for the inconveniences that we may have caused. Each of your concerns have been shared and addressed with the staff and management of the resort. Parking is just across the street as is the norm for beach front hotels, and two crosswalks are provided. Future plans will address these parking concerns. Work is underway in the hotel units to address a new furniture upgrade which will include all new furniture and 32" flat HD TV's, as well as upgrades in all of the bathrooms.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future so we can show you that great service we are known for. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I just got back from the Westgate Myrtle Beach NC. We had a 3 night stay. At check-in, which wasn't until about 8 PM on Friday due to large volume of traffic, we were greeted very pleasantly and given our room number and keys. Much to our surprise, even a little after 8 PM, we opened the door to our room and it hand't yet been cleaned from the previous guests. We went out to eat after notifying the front desk and it was taken care of by the time we got back.

The room was basically clean, with the exception of the shower, which could definitely Use a Good scrubbing and some Tilex for the mildew on the grout. The staff was very pleasant. I was actually taken aback at those writing reviews who said the staff is rude. We didn't find that at all. Probably wouldn't go back as it is pretty run down but not a horrible experience.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DSE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you very much for your recent feedback. Tower 1000 is the first timeshare tower that Westgate opened in Myrtle Beach and the entire building is oceanfront. It has a great view of the ocean and the beach from every room. We are in a great location in downtown Myrtle Beach, directly across from Family Kingdom amusement park. We do provide all levels of accommodations. Our hotel rooms, being our most no frills accommodations,are used by individuals that stay for shorter lengths of time and do not need the upgraded amenities found in our condo units. The hotel units are now being renovated with state of the art electronics,luxurious furniture, our own WG comfy beds, as well as new tile and vanity in the bathroom. We have recently replaced all of the carpet in the hallways and rooms in the hotel. We have brought the housekeeping items you mentioned to the attention of our housekeeping management team and they will give this their immediate attention. Thank you for sharing your comments, We do hope you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Rude staff..bad food....dirty with bugs. Never again my friend, never again. The worst was the management staff who seemed perturbed at our fustrations. They made it seem we were the problem. When my poor wife got a rash from the bed they said maybe she has allergies. Nice.

Room Tip: go to another place.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the issues you experienced and for any inconvenience they may have caused. Your review will be shared with management including the housekeeping and Guest Services departments to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention as we work diligently to resolve them. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews