We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharged for this disgusting hotel- smelled like garbage with cigarette burns in the comforters”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #63 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Overall- I would not return to this hotel and it placed a fairly bad taste in my mouth for the brand. The check in process took over 5 hours and I only received a room because I was persistent and kept bugging the front desk.

When they did get my room checked-in, after the 4pm check in time, when I arrived at the room there was a giant, incredibly bad smelling, bag of garbage that was in the middle of the hallway. I had to jump over it to get to our room, and when I got into the room there was a woman (I'm assuming someone from housekeeping checking the room) in there with a clipboard and the TV on. The trash bag stayed in the hallway until I called over an hour later to tell the front desk it was there and had made the entire room smell- I had to open the balcony doors- which I don't see as safe given I have two young children that love to climb.

When I went into the bathroom the bi-fold door in front of the laundry machines fell on me since the bottom was broken. The maintenance man came by and drilled it into place so it wouldn't fall on my kids during the week. While he was there we realized the safe wasn't working either and we could not figure out how to get it to work. Which left the whole week of my kids messing with it. The bottom shelf of the refrigerator was also broken and resulted in the shelf bar falling off and the glass bottles that were on that shelf fell out and broke. And on top of that- the comforter had a cigarette burn in it!
The next day I attempted to go into the hot tub and it was so disgusting I had to get out. When I say disgusting, I don't mean a few leaves had fallen in, I mean there were chunks of things floating in that looked like mucus or something worse.

Housekeeping skipped our room the first day, but after I asked the front desk about whether they serviced the room everyday, they came the rest of the time we were there.

The next few days the smell of garbage wafted in and out, making our entire room smell again and we could not figure out why. Finally, housekeeping sprayed the hallway and the mechanical room that was to the side of our room and it got slightly better, though it never went away from the hallway completely.

Our room keys constantly demagnetized- we went through, minimum, 10 keys. We did not put them next to phones, we didn't put them next to other credit cards. After the first 4 times getting stuck outside of our room, we were very careful to only put them into specific places by themselves- and yet they still demagnetized and left us locked out of our room.

The on top of all that horribleness, as we are getting to our last night, I am in the lobby, getting yet another set of keys- when I hear a woman complaining about her room, getting moved to another location and offered club access! She was complaining about a little noise and was offered discounts and upgrades, and I had to live with a damn trash smell all week and not even a basic apology. Maybe I should have been angrier and screamed to get someone's attention, because being nice sure got me shafted on this trip.

Room Tip: Get a different hotel
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kayjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,341)
There are newer reviews for Carolinian Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 2,341 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

Not impressed at all with hotel and definitely would not return nor recommend. Elevators slow
Or out of order frequently. Breakfast terrible. Room not what I expected. Would stay at a brand hotel instead.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Bernice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for choosing Carolinian for your recent stay in Myrtle Beach. I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy during your stay and hope you shared your concerns with our team so they could correct the issues you experienced. Again, I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Definitely not a nice place to stay - small crowded room, noisy, dank, old, terrible breakfast, and generally uninviting. We seriously considered leaving early as it was just so depressing. While it's certainly cheaper than most beachside accommodations in this area, it's really not worth it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Moro6395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

It's disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your stay. I hope you were able to speak with our management team to express your concerns. Our onsite team tries hard to correct any issues during a guest stay. Again, I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We booked our room wanting our oceanfront balcony. The room is average size, very clean complete with a refrigerator, microwave, K-cup machine, iron & ironing board room safe. Being the room is one of the club level rooms (I believe floors 8-10) we received 2 snack bags of chips and 2 snack packs of cookies & 2 bottles of water for my wife & I.
The included breakfast was fine with scrambled eggs, sausages, muffins, pastries, cereal and a waffle station.
Location... Right on the beach!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your recent club level stay at Carolinian. I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found your room clean and well-appointed. It's also nice to hear that you enjoyed our awesome ocean front location. I hope you will return for another stay soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Beautiful view of the beach and ocean from your balcony. Very nice staff. That's where the good stuff ends. Room needed painting. Piece of molding missing in the bathroom, caulking out along the tub. Hole in the wall near the bed. Needs a total renovation. Elevators broken almost every day. Good location, but not worth it.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank GrandmaE_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at Carolinian. While it's great reading that our staff members were very nice, I'm disappointed to hear that your room was not in great condition and there were issues with our elevators. I have shared your feedback with our management team so we can work on correcting our deficiencies. Again, I apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.2 km away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,035 reviews
0.2 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,176 reviews
0.8 km away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
2.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#47 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €61 - €193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing