We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weeklong stay,directly on beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carolinian Beach Resort
Ranked #66 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 17 July 2017

We stayed for 7 days and overall had a nice experience. Parking is 1 block away in a 5 story parking garage that is common for similar beachfront rentals. There is a lazy river, hot tub, medium sized pool and a large pool to choose from. We stayed in a 1 bedroom partial oceanfront suite that included a queen sized bed, pull out sofa couch, full kitchen, washer, dryer and great view of the ocean. Breakfast is available from 6:30-10:30 daily on the second floor and DVD's are available to rent for free in the lobby. The resort offers free mini golf that is directly across the street and free admission to a surprisingly big water park that is 20 minutes south of the hotel. Our room was clean and well taken care of and the staff was great. Me and my family would definitely stay at this resort again. (Only downside was no luggage carts are available unless bell service is used).

Room Tip: Avoid lower level oceanfront rooms because the pool noise will be an issue. The pool is open till 11...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisgood528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Intern at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thank you for choosing Carolinian Beach Resort and taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the pool options and the space offered in your room. We are happy you liked our free breakfast and dvd rentals. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 2,369 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2017

The facilities themselves would be fine if they were CLEANED. It is a shabby hotel, but they can get away with this because of the view. The are clearly NOT maintaining this building or the grounds! The floors were disgusting- the floors of the elevator, bathroom etc.. When we walked into our room, there was poop all over the outside of the toilet. It looked like it hadn't been cleaned in quite a while- not only was there poop, but dust and hair as well! One pillow case had lipstick ALL over it. The pool was only cleaned ONCE during our 5 day stay. The pool area was left with the same dirty towels, socks, hair elastics and other garbage around the pool area for 3 days! The garbage was overflowing in the pool area. There were leftover chicken wings and some pasta dinner that had been left out there as well- right on the patio itself! When I went to the front desk and asked if the pool area would be cleaned, the front desk manager asked what I meant... She told me that the "levels" of the pool were checked daily. The one day the pool was cleaned, the guy used the same net to scoop up random garbage from the patio- and then skimmed the pool with it!!! Save your money and find another place! I'm not sure how this place has as many stars as it does. If it hadn't been 4th of July weekend- with no vacancies anywhere else- we would have left!!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel- there are plenty on this strip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your stay with us. It is disturbing to hear about the many issues you experienced with regard to lack of cleanliness during your stay and this information was shared with our team. Our pools are inspected and cleaned daily and must adhere to strict regulations instituted by the health department. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the pool area to be clean. Should you wish to discuss your concerns further, we encourage you to contact the property general manager. Again, we apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

We rented a private condo from Century 21 (Room 1634).

The only negatives I found was that they only offer a luggage cart if you pay for the bellhop service, the hallways didn't seem vacuumed daily, and the parking sucks.

We were there for a busy Fourth of July week and never had crowded pools. They were actually pretty empty for being in the peak season. We also never experienced problems with the elevators. They were always relatively quick and when one went down it was fixed quickly.

The location is great. Close to everything but far enough away to avoid the craziness. Really close to Broadway at the Beach, which is nice. The area felt safe enough, which is good considering you have to walk back and forth to the parking garage.

I can't attest to housekeeping because as I said, we rented privately and had no housekeeping. We also had no interaction with any staff except to ask for a luggage rack, which costs money. (Kind of crazy, I think.)

Overall we were pretty pleased. We had a good time and enjoyed this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanaResorts, Marketing Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your recent stay at Carolinian. We appreciate the time you took to let us know about your stay. We do not allow guests to borrow the luggage carts because, in the past, it became problematic as the carts were not returned in a reasonable amount of time and we were left scrambling to round them up. We are, however, looking into other solutions to this and thank you for letting us know it was an issue. We hope to have you back soon and are happy you enjoyed your stay and our convenient, safe location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

The condo was nice but we rented thru Elloitt beach rentals and we paid $1300 and that price included having to do a linen rentals which consist of sheets for the bed 2 wash clothes and 2 towels nothing else . I thought it was ridiculous . I didn't realize that was how it was going to be and the house keeper didn't even make the bed . I think next time I'll rent through the Carolinian because I saw house keepers each day . Only problem I saw with the hotel no luggage carts unless you get the front desk to get valet boys to carry it up for you then you have to tip them .

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank patpg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElliottRealty, Guest Relations Manager at Carolinian Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry you were not happy with our linen service. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to make any necessary changes so that future guests do not have those same issues. We hope to see you back at the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

I'm not one to write reviews but after our stay and the amount of money we spent I'm hoping to save someone else some time and money on their family vacation.

Our check-in process was smooth and the lady helping us was very friendly and accommodating. We were able to get into our room early which was wonderful. The rest of our party was not able to check in early but had their room available close to the check in time.

Elevators are terrible! Very slow and always packed. Most of the time they were being used by staff which was frustrating. Then when we would make it to our rooms our key cards wouldn't work. Happened all the time even when keeping them in a secure place. So back down the elevators you go.

We decided to do an upgrade to a club level room when we booked it and we did not get what we were suppose to. We never had daily snacks or water. We called down after the second day and the gentleman we talked to was incredibly rude! The two reasons why we did the upgrade and we never received it. Some sort of refund would be greatly appreciated since we did pay extra for this.


Breakfast had long lines and no where to sit. Ended up having to go elsewhere to eat. We were also suppose to have access to the 10th floor club level breakfast with our upgraded room but they didn't have much.

There is only 1 bathroom for the pool/beach area. Many times we were waiting in line for staff using the restroom.

There were NO towels for the pool/beach. We were able to get towels on the last day.

You have to rent the umbrellas/chairs at the beach and they kick you off of them at 4:00.

Front desk gentleman on July 4th night was terribly rude and shouldn't be in customer service. Our key card was not working for our room so I had to ask him for a new one. He didn't even ask me my name or any info. Sure doesn't make you feel too safe. Didn't say one word to me. Then when we called down to ask if we could have a 1 hour later check out the next morning he said we would have to call in the am and just hung up on my husband before he could ask him the next question.

My husband and I travel a lot and we would NEVER recommend this place. It is dirty, front desk staff is not always pleasant to talk to and it is way too expensive for what you get! Do your research before you book and compare other places. Oh and don't bother with a club level upgrade.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 km away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.2 km away
The Strand a Boutique Resort
The Strand a Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,070 reviews
2.5 km away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,948 reviews
5.9 km away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,651 reviews
0.5 km away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carolinian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carolinian Beach Resort

Address: 2506 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3241 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Carolinian Oceanfront Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#45 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#46 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: €54 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carolinian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a great location, superb facilities and affordable rates at the Carolinian Beach Resort, an award-winning hotel where children under 18 stay FREE with parents. Enjoy a Myrtle Beach hotel with a friendly atmosphere and smartly-appointed accommodations for families, couples and group getaways. The Carolinian offers loads of great amenities that are sure to please including an on-site lazy river, oceanfront pool deck, direct beach access, and even FREE breakfast included with your reservation! During your resort stay, we encourage you to explore the variety of services available to you at our hotel and other Oceana Resorts in Myrtle Beach. From spa services at Awakening Spa located at the Anderson Ocean Club, to great guest privileges at area merchants, our resort offers a convenient location plus a variety of onsite services for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carolinian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carolinian Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach
Best Western Myrtle Beach
Best Western Carolinian Beach Resort
Myrtle Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing