We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
26
18
11
7
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
18
11
7
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tile floors full kitchen ocean stove mattresses
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2015

Stayed for a week in July 2015, You get what you pay for, rooms were cheap for a motel right on the beach. We had three ocean front rooms on the third floor. The motel is old and is definitely in need of updates. The room had a small kitchenette area and two bedrooms. The beds were uncomfortable and should have been replaced several rentals ago. The desk staff was OK, one lady was very polite and courteous, the afternoon person was arrogant and rude. She was more concerned with her make-up than caring to the guests. The hotel has I think 35 rooms with 38 parking spaces. They only allow one vehicle per room to park in their lot. The staff take up at least three of the spaces, which makes it difficult to find a space sometimes. You would think the staff would park on the street several blocks away, which is where they tell you to park if you have more than one vehicle. The housekeeping staff checked on you daily and we just had them to leave towels. Didn't quite feel comfortable allowing them in the rooms unattended. If you are looking for someplace to just sleep and spend your time on the beach, this is the place. If you are looking for something more like nice accommodations and a wow experience this is definitely not the place. The whole family toughed it out for the week, but we won't be booking this motel for our vacation next year.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernBreezeRep, Public Relations Manager at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thanks for your review, Roger. We appreciate your constructive criticism and have taken steps to improve in all areas. We hope you will stay with us again during your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

We decided to stay at the Southern Breeze because that was the only hotel we could find that would let people under 25 stay there. It was 2 other people, myself, and my 3 year old daughter. It was okay the first half a day we stayed there other than the smell of the hallway+elevator. It was old but we just figured we would make due. Woke up in the morning to a roach on the wall. I was very disgusted and disappointed. We took the roach down to the office and told the lady which she blamed us saying they only get in when the balcony door is left open and kept on saying they are sprayed every month. I brushed it off as just that so we tried to tough it out. That night as I was getting ready to go to bed we found another one crawling on the wall and 2 more on the floor! I took my daughter down to my parents hotel because I wasn't gonna have her in unsanitary conditions like that. We trapped all of them in cups and took them down to the office the next morning and got the heck up out of there. We did get our money back for the days we did not stay but we lost 2 nights to the roaches. The rooms could have been cleaner too. There was so much dust in the corner that it would have sparked anyone's allergies. The beds were also stained pretty bad. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone. Cheap yes but I wouldn't stay here if that was the only place available.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank LanetteCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernBreezeRep, Public Relations Manager at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, Lanette. We are sorry you had an unpleasant experience at Southern Breeze. Because pest control is a regular part of the motels maintenance, your experience is not a normal one. Again, we apologize for the inconvenience and hope you will visit us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

Motel was very clean staff was super nice and very polite GREAT place to stay I will stay here every year from now on view from balcony was great easy access to the beach pool was very clean staff vacuumed my room and gave us fresh towels every day it was just a really wonderful stay

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Liteman1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernBreezeRep, Public Relations Manager at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thanks so much for you review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Southern Breeze and look forward to seeing you again in 2016!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We got a room with 3 beds and small kitchenette One of the bed's was in a room with a door that worked out wonderful for us. Every thing was clean. We had the first floor and the pool was right next to our room. The ocean was walking distance. It has no Breakfast offered. It would have been nice if they offered a small breakfast

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 212Copper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernBreezeRep, Public Relations Manager at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay at Southern Breeze. Although we do not have the space necessary to provide breakfast, there are several great restaurants within walking distance, including Spring Garden Family Restaurant directly across the street from us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2015 via mobile

As stated before this is an older establishment and is not fancy, but clean and well staffed. Front desk was friendly and housekeeping checked on us everyday very politely. We had Sideview room 302 and views are still very nice, right on the beach, quite area (felt safe), nice size pool.. overall great visit here and even better prices! Would visit here again!

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank charper31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthernBreezeRep, Public Relations Manager at Southern Breeze Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! Southern Breeze is a small, family-owned motel, which we feel adds to our charm. We are glad you noticed and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you in 2016!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews