We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pinehills experience”

PineHills & Palmetto at Myrtlewood Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Golf club offers 36 challenging holes of golf on two challenging courses:: Palmetto and Pine Hills.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pinehills experience”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

A decent design, but beware of October golf. They had just overseeded the entire course with rye. Ball looks like it has grown hair after rolling in fairways, putting in oatmeal. Otherwise a pleasant experience and reasonably priced. Accommodating staff.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank golfxj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    44
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Croydon,PA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2 of the best courses in Myrtle Beach”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I go with my father-in-law as he is a member there. I must say these 2 courses are challenging. You have to be very precise with your approach shots as the fringes are grown from Bermuda Grass and grab the ball. If your drives don't make where your aiming you can get in trouble quick. I prefer the Palmetto course myself as most of the hole configuration fits my ball flight (right to left). not just that but the final 3 holes are on the intercoastal waterway. If you go toMyrtle as much as I do these are worth the money. The Bar & Grill has some of the greatest breakfast sandwiches, it called the 18ner, it's 2 fried eggs,2 sausage patties and cheese. It really hits the spot when on an early morning (7am EST) round.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank bigmick318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fulshear, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Myrtlewood Palmetto”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Played Myrtlewood Palmetto course during a tournament. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Did not use the bag drop since it was a tournament. We were having to put our own bags on the carts anyway. The pro shop folks were great as always. The cart girl was pleasant. The course itself was in very, very good shape. Always a pleasure to play here.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank RickK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good course - no amentities”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Played both courses in July 2011. On the plus side, we were able to get $39.00 greens fees. The overall layout is good. Beware, the week we were there, the greens were very fast. Overheard an employee state that golfers were complaining about the speed of the greens.
On the bad side, there is NO drinking water on the course. An employee rides around in a cart with the large cooler of water. Never saw that before. They also do have the $10.00 charity hole. (not a bad thing). On the palmetto course, once you leave the clubhouse, you will not see it again until you are done. There is a snack shack, but it was not open when we went by around 9:30 or so on the front 9. Since the weather was in the low 90's it would have been nice to be able to get something to drink and not rely on the cart guy.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank hesster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice Day for 36”
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We had the chance to play Pinehills and Palmetto in early May 2010. It was a very relaxing time. The complex is centrally located, the greens fees reasonable, and there was no problem scheduling both courses on the same day. The staff was helpful, and the food was decent (although stay away from the Philly steak if you're expecting a whiff of something reminiscing Geno's).
Both courses were in nice condition from tee to green. Pace of play was never an issue (even though there were a fair amount of people playing for a Wednesday). The courses can be demanding at times, but nowhere near the grind of a premium track. You can spend all day spinning around both courses - you shouldn't regret it (but consider spending a couple of dollars for a yardage book if it's your first visit).
Finally, take the time to pay special attention to each finishing hole. Pinehills has an insidious par 4 with water to the left of the green and some tricky wind. (it busted my round - don't let it do the same to you). Palmetto's #18 is a treat, with a wonderful view of the Intercoastal to your left. Myrtlewood will be on my golf calendar next time I visit SC...

Helpful?
1 Thank EdWhid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PineHills & Palmetto at Myrtlewood Golf Club also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to PineHills & Palmetto at Myrtlewood Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing