We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice stay for a short time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. John's Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
St. John's Inn
Ranked #143 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice stay for a short time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

My wife and I just spent two nights at the St. John's inn, and had a very nice time. We booked through the Caravelle, thinking that we would be in the large building. However, we did not request a suite, so they put us at the St. John's instead.

The room was spacious for a king-sized room. We even had a full couch! The only complaint I would have is that the ac in the room was constantly running, and that made the balcony wet and the carpet around the ac damp. Otherwise, it certainly met our needs as a younger couple.

If you don't mind crossing the street to get to the beach or climbing a few stairs, then this is a nice lower-cost alternative to Myrtle Bew

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank axelfsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    12
    17
    9
    12
See reviews for
21
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

My family had a great time here. The bottom floor is the best because it is right off the pool. And the ocean is just across the street...

Room Tip: Bottom floor is the best :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mistylee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

My daughter, and two granddaughters stayed at the St.John's in July when other rooms at the beach were way over our budget. I would normally have chosen the The Caravelle resort hotel but because this was an impromptu trip, suites were not to be had. Having stayed at the the Caravelle on each prior beach trip for the last 13 years, I assumed that because the St.Johns was part of the resort it would be almost as nice a room. I was soooo wrong. It was very humid outside, and just about as humid inside the room too. The carpet felt dank and the room had a slight musty smell to it.. The room opened up into the pool area which everyone thought was way cool. The bathroom on the other hand was awful!!! The tub caulking was literally black with mold. The wall paper was stained and the toilet was so loud that it woke everyone up if it was used during sleep hours. It did have a small fridge, stove, and microwave. If it had not been for my granddaughters wanting to stay, I would have left and come home.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrykist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Stokesdale, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

My friend had stayed here before...several years ago, so I went with his recommendation. It was great! If you are looking for a laid-back, relaxing spot, the St Johns Inn is for you! It is north of all the madness that Myrtle Beach has to offer, but still close to anything you would need or want to do. Our room overlooking the pool was ideal for what we needed. Daily maid service kept the place tidy, too. Beds were comfy, room was neat and clean. We plan to go back before summer's end.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tch469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh,NC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

The St John's Inn at the Caravelle Resort is an older hotel. The room was clean and the fact that the rooms on the first floor had 10 feet ceilings did help. The wallpaper needs to be replcaed but we felt safe and the room was clean. If you are on the first floor, the courtyard to the pool was nice. I felt safe there but probably will not go back to it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMan27519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
1.4 km away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#88 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 km away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Ocean Villas Beach and Racquet
Ocean Villas Beach and Racquet
#155 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.2 km away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#33 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
0.1 km away
Carolina Dunes
Carolina Dunes
#15 of 34 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. John's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. John's Inn

Property: St. John's Inn
Address: 6803 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3314
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
St. John`s Hotel Myrtle Beach
St Johns Hotel
St Johns Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing