We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a stop during a 7 mikes beach hike”

Huntington Beach State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

mercifully - after 3.5 miles of walking, a clean bathroom
and a snack bar for refreshments---

if you prefer to drive into this lovely state park,
the fee is nominal
and camping is available for modest fee.

the beach is simply lovely - pristine and great for finding
sharks' teeth at low tide!!!

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank shogue7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 138 reviews
"nature center"
in 116 reviews
"atalaya castle"
in 94 reviews
"beach access"
in 54 reviews
"hiking trails"
in 35 reviews
"camping area"
in 22 reviews
"favorite beach"
in 20 reviews
"wood storks"
in 18 reviews
"bird watching"
in 36 reviews
"summer home"
in 22 reviews
"the north end"
in 20 reviews
"gift shop"
in 87 reviews
"wildlife viewing"
in 19 reviews
"clean restrooms"
in 22 reviews
"salt marsh"
in 36 reviews
"marsh area"
in 27 reviews
"low tide"
in 35 reviews
Filter

485 - 489 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

This park is beautiful and well maintained. We took a guided tour of Atalaya. The Ranger was interesting and knowledgeable. We had a nice hike and went out on a beautiful if somewhat chilly beach.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Had a great time learning about Huntington Beach Park. Mike the park ranger was very knowledgable. The 2 hour 2.5 mile through the park was just what I needed to get more exercise in 2017. Nice attends.
Thanks to the park system for doing this fun hike. Will watch for the next hike and go again.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank LG643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

We stoped here in our way home from brookgreen gardens and fell in love with this place. It is well worth the money you pay to get in. We only spent a short time here but it looks like you can plan several days of adventures here. We went to the beach which was very clean and there is a side for dogs which we loved. Then we drove to the gift shop which was very nice. We can't wait till we come back in the spring.

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank 484melissam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

What a delightful surprise, just 15 minutes from Garden City.

Totally worth $5 entry fee to access stunning beach. Beach was nearly empty (Boxing Day) even though campground seemed fairly full.

Excellent gift shop with locally made items at reasonable prices. Would definitely revisit and strongly recommend to others!

Keep your eyes open on Hwy 17 so you don't miss the left turn just before Brookgreen Gardens (when traveling south).

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank KiwiFan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Huntington Beach State Park also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Pawleys Island, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Huntington Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing