We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for history lovers and romantic souls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee
Ranked #2 of 2 Marion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
1 review
“A great place for history lovers and romantic souls”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

If you ever have the choice to stay at the Grove on Harlee, Marion, please, be sure to grab it. History is becoming alive int this beautiful house. The friendly landlords, Anne & Denley, will spoil their guests not only with a delicious breakfast, but also with historical 'nutrition'. And there's a lot of American history in and around the house.
The spacious rooms are nicely decorated with love to detail, and if you ever wanted to be feeling like Scarlett O'Hara or Rhett Butler this will be the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
46
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I cannot wait to return to this beautiful inn. Every detail was perfect. It's within walking distance of Marion's reviving Main Street and several good local establishments. The Revolutionary War re-enactment and events honoring Francis Marion (the town's namesake) are a must for history buffs. The breakfast is fantastic and the grounds boast resident hens and their lovely home, as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goose Creek, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The Grove was a sweet respite! Beautiful accommodations reminded me of Biltmore! I called it the baby Biltmore since they were both constructed around the same time. We stayed in the Senator's room. Beautiful. Each room even had its own climate control! When you visit, just be aware that the windows in this room are not completely covered and it gets lots of light in the morning. It faces the west side too, so it gets the afternoon sun also. Denley and Ann provided excellent personal service. Breakfast was always delicious. Both Ann and Denley are extremely knowledgeable about the history, both for the house and the region. My husband and I enjoyed the swing in the shade and of course the baby chicks that were hatched while we were there. Attractions in Myrtle Beach were only about an hour away which was great. We had a quiet, beautiful place to retreat away from the hussle and bussle of tourism!

Room Tip: Senator's room faces the West...gets lots of light and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyJoSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prattville, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Our stay at The Grove was during a three day business trip in which my wife accompanied me. The Grove is immaculately restored inside and out. I especially enjoyed the tours provided by Denley, and I appreciate his knowledge and passion for the historical lifestyle and those who preceded him. He cooked several times on the 1940s wood-burning stove and was working in the traditional wood shop. I felt like I was living back in the late 1800s. The food was excellent, and the Sister’s Suite was perfect for us. The visit was a relaxing escape. P&A, AL

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sister's Suite and loved it. We would also like to stay in the Brother's Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2008

We had an absolutely blissful experience when we stayed with Denley & Ann at The Grove. They have restored their AMAZING home so beautifully and accurately. We were shocked at just how large and beautifully appointed EVERY single room was. Each room has its own bathroom and fireplace too. Denley and Ann are amazing hosts and a pleasure to talk to and stay with. I haven't even gotten to the breakfast which was to DIE for with delicious coffee, juice, an amazing fruit bowl, the best muffins we have ever had, stuffed French toast and bacon!! All of that on the best china in an amazing dining room with a roaring fire. It was all that you could wish for in a stay at a bed and breakfast. A+ and we can’t wait to visit again!!

  • Liked — The beauty of it all!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pjgermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
4.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Mullins
29 reviews
34.3 km away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
437 reviews
22.7 km away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 km away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#15 of 41 in Florence
384 reviews
28.9 km away
Quality Inn Dillon
Quality Inn Dillon
#1 of 7 in Dillon
78 reviews
38.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee

Property: The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee
Address: 408 Harllee Pl, Marion, SC 29571-3144 (Formerly Montgomery's Grove Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove is a meticulously restored 1895 Eastlake (late Victorian) mansion situated on a five acre estate in the heart of picturesque Marion, SC. Each of our five guest rooms is furnished for your comfort, some having a two-person jacuzzi. Four rooms have queen beds and one has twin bonnet beds which are original to the house. Memorabilia from the original family abounds and a parlor features Revolutionary War General Francis (Swamp Fox) Marion. The 49' hallway features beautiful natural woodwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing